Red face Help!!!!! New system design (a long question)

I have several years in the IT industry as an applications programmer.
    Currently, I am a programmer/analyst for a government institution and have been in my position for about 9 months. My responsibility is to maintain an Access/VB application that is used by 8 analysts in my department. For sake of privacy/security I will refer to this application as ‘COLORS’. Since being here, I have restored/repaired broken interfaces and learned how to resolve bugs in ‘COLORS’ and implement the required enhancements.

Now I am required to redesign and rewrite the COLORS application.The problem is getting started. In the past I have always worked in a team environment usually under some team leader or project manager. All the platform, software, database and security issues had already been decided and setup by someone else. All I had to do was create batch or online programs or scripts. The good news is that since I currently work alone, I can make all the decisions myself. That bad news is that I’m not sure what decisions to make and I am limited by cost. I may be able to obtain new software development products that’s not definite.

A little about my skills. I consider myself a pretty good analyst and usually can figure things out once I get started as long as I have the right resources. In this case, most of my knowledge will come from within or from textbooks or online. I am not surrounded by an abundance of knowledgeable colleagues. There MAY be 1 or 2 people that can help me, but I don’t know who they are yet. I understand relational databases, how to set up the tables and all the logical coding issues that will be involved. I have experience with MS SQL Server and Unix. Languages include C, SQL, Unix shell, Javascript, VBscript. None are current (although recallable), except for Visual Basic.