Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Unanswered: Hi - My job may very well depend on this.

I'm new to database designing, and my first project is to build a website and database for the proposal development department at my job.

After reading up, this is the design I've gone with:

Proposal Database

I know this is really complicated for my first project. There is a lot of many to many relationships that I'm not sure that I need. I've tried to normalize it as much as I could, but thought I would post it here to get professional opinions.

Also, is it possible to create a form that would update the junction tables between the make to make relationships? For example, if I wanted to add Criteria from the EvaluationCriteria table to the first Proposal in the Proposal table, would I have to go in and manually update the Proposal_Evaluation table each time?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails img1.JPG  

It seems you don't need most of your intermediate tables. For example.

Proposal -> Proposal Schedule <- Schedule

One to Many to One

You surely could just have Proposal_ID in your Schedule table and do away with the Proposal Schedule table?

This seems to apply to a lot of your relationships.

My thinking on this was that there are many proposals, and and many schedule items. Each proposal can have many schedule items, and each schedule item could go into many proposals.

That's why I went with a many to many relationship, and used the junction tables. Is there a different way to approach this?

Well if that's the case, the way you're doing is the way I'd do it.

And if that's the case with all the other relationships that are the same as this, I think I would develop a headache after 5 minutes of trying to develop this database!

I guess it's a good way to learn anyways.