Basic question re database normalization

Hi,

I am working with a sharp but relatively inexperienced programmer on a PHP/MySQL database project. I'm no database expert but have some knowledge of database design and structure, although much of my knowledge is probably 20 years out of date.

The project we're working on is content management and display of images and text on a website. Integrity and accuracy of the data is crucial. There are a bunch of tables that have to be accessed to display data on a given page, particularly when the user has requested a multi-tiered sort.

I was taught (20 years ago) that data should be fully normalized, i.e., you should not store the same data (birth date or legal name, for example) in multiple tables to eliminate the possibility of synchronization problems (data being updated in one table but not in another, due to scripting error or write problem or whatever.)

The programmer is arguing that most of the arguments for normalization are dated (storage and processing speed is no longer a big issue) and that data integrity is not an issue either.

He says it's easier to code the application, and it's obviously faster to retrieve the data if he can copy data from the master record to other records multiple times. I can see that it will be much less load on the server to open one table and retrieve data and output it than to open 5 or 10 tables to assemble the data to be output.

Speed and processor load is, I think, a relatively minor issue. The server is a fast dedicated box and will have maybe a couple thousand users at a time absolute tops. We are currently using a fully normalized database with several hundred simultaneous users and are not having any speed issues.