Angry Unanswered: MS-Access & SQL-Server enigma

I have an MS-Access (2003) application connecting to SQL-server 2000. All works well, except for an issue that cropped up last Friday.

Background: our DBA removed my predecessor's credentials (security rights) from SQL-Server (after all he thinks he's got a better offer (and maybe he has) somewhere else!).

Whether in error or forgetfullness he embedded his user uid and user password when he linked the required SQL-Server tables.

I relinked these using a "superuser" credentials (almost a DBA level) so when I leave (I am a contractor here) the same incident does not reccur.

Now whenever my users are running the required processes, they are prompted for a SQL-Server user id and password with their network id displayed in the login form.

I have set all the security permission to the "superuser" but it seems that I am missing something - somewhere!

Anyone with any suggestions?

Sincerely,

Sol.

Hi Sol

Welcome to the forum!

I hope the superuser can do no more than is required for the application?

Anyway - this superuser is a SQL Server account not a domain account right? When you linked the tables did you tick the "save password" box?

BTW - it is not a permissions issue.
    Testimonial:
    pootle flump
    ur codings are working excelent.

Thank you for your comment. Just to clarify - "superuser", in my perception, is a user with all the rights and permissions, one that can run processes that our regular users are not allowed. I may not have defined this properly, and so the explanation.

As for checking the "save password" box, I believe I did, but I'll just drop and relink the tables and make sure.

Will find out whether that resolves the issue when one of my users runs a process like "Daily Cash Position Import" where that information is required.

Once again - Thank you.

Sol.

Provided Answers: 1
    Sooo... your application has access to a super-user account?

Why?