Unanswered: querying postcode/incode within a given date

Hi,

we have a client database and as part of reporting, we need to know how many clients we have over an inputted date from a particular postcode area. The query is referring to english postcodes which are tricky because they are not a fixed length. For example B8, ST1, IG16. I want the query to return a list of the postcode area and then give number of clients for each area when inputted a given date. Any help will be much appreciated, please be aware that i am a beginner.

hi

first thoughts are to use the Between function in the query builder to get your date paramiters.

then you'll need to decide if it might be better to use counties or cities/towns rather than post code to get then number per discrict.

if you decide to use post codes then you might be better setting the query criteria as [forms]![myform]![text1], and in the afterupdate event property of the forms text box have it requery in vba.

your input for text1 ,might be b77* meaning anything begining with b77 or BS7* and so on.

give it a try.

The problem with your suggestion is that the database is hosted externally and i dont have access to the database design, we download csv files that are imported into Access for reporting purposes. The only client info we have is postcodes, not town/city

Provided Answers: 59
    how far down the postcode treee do you want to report
    ie the first two blocks, or the round & district codes (ie do ytou want to analyse the first, first 2 codes, 1,2 %& 3 or all codes.

....one thing you could consider is forcing some rule on your data as it comes in. If you are using this data as read only (ie you dont use it for CRM, or any data capture purposes, so you could reformat M3 5ZX to something like "M__3 _5ZX". You could use an uopdate query to achieve this, personally I'd probably call a function to reformat the postcode