Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    53

    Unanswered: DTS Scheduling in SQL 2005

    Hi all,

    I am trying to create scheduled job for DTS. I have created new DTS in SQL 2005 but not able to create job out of it.

    I tried creating Credential and then to create proxy with this:
    Use master

    CREATE CREDENTIAL [MyCredential] WITH IDENTITY = 'yourdomain\myWindowAccount', secret = 'WindowLoginPassword'

    Use msdb

    Sp_add_proxy @proxy_name='MyProxy', @credential_name='MyCredential'

    Sp_grant_login_to_proxy @login_name=' devlogin', @proxy_name='MyProxy'

    Sp_grant_proxy_to_subsystem @proxy_name='MyProxy', @subsystem_name='SSIS'

    but could not get the job to schedule it. when i try to search for the DTS package(TestRev) it could not find it:

    Is there a way that i can just call TSQL statement to run that dam DTS because it is too confusing to create job for DTS.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    12,592
    Provided Answers: 1
    Quote Originally Posted by patdev
    I have created new DTS in SQL 2005
    No, you didn't. DTS is not supported in 2005. Please clarify, and maybe we can answer you question.
    If it's not practically useful, then it's practically useless.

    blindman
    www.chess.com: "sqlblindman"
    www.LobsterShot.blogspot.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    53
    I mean to SSIS packages and would like to schedule it to run in job,

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    12,592
    Provided Answers: 1
    OK, the job scheduler is a bit confusing, but it is going to be around for a while so you might as well bite the bullet and jump in.

    And scheduling a package is not very difficult.

    In the job scheduler, name your package and then set the type to "SQL Server Integration Services Package".

    Set the package source in the General tab at the bottom of the window. (Not the General tab on the left of the window. I agreed it was a bit confusing...)
    If it's not practically useful, then it's practically useless.

    blindman
    www.chess.com: "sqlblindman"
    www.LobsterShot.blogspot.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    53
    i tried that and it says that the specified package could not be loaded from SQL server Database.

    I select SQL server and then name of server and then name but not able to locate it.

    thanks

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    12,592
    Provided Answers: 1
    Where did you save your package? If you saved it to a file, you will need to point to the file name.
    If it's not practically useful, then it's practically useless.

    blindman
    www.chess.com: "sqlblindman"
    www.LobsterShot.blogspot.com

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    10,322
    I just started playing with SSBIDS

    What a gdman pig
    Brett
    8-)

    It's a Great Day for America everybody!

    dbforums Yak CorralRadio 'Rita
    dbForums Member List
    I'm Good Once as I ever was

    The physical order of data in a database has no meaning.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    53
    i saved it on Server.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •