Web Spider / Crawler question - Please help !!

Hello all.

I need to program a web spider / crawler that will log onto various websites (eg. nfl.com) and collect various sports stats automatcially after the game is completed and enter them in my database.

I'm new to programming but I'm a pretty fast learner. Can someone suggest a language / approach that I should be using?

Thanks much in advance.

if you use .net, you could use the HttpWebRequest class to do this.

http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/lib...ebrequest.aspx

watch out though - you may be violating copyright if you scrape the nfl.com site. they would probably claim ownership of the data on their site. I'm not a lawyer though.

Quote Originally Posted by okayfine
    Hello all.

I need to program a web spider / crawler that will log onto various websites (eg. nfl.com) and collect various sports stats automatcially after the game is completed and enter them in my database.

I'm new to programming but I'm a pretty fast learner. Can someone suggest a language / approach that I should be using?

Thanks much in advance.
    I did a lot of web scraping back in the day. It's *painful* stuff because by the time you get it working the bastards change the layout on you.

There are two approaches:

1. Scripting a browser. I haven't done this since IE 4, so I'm really not sure how IE 7 handles. This involves sending OLE automation requests to the browser to do all the things a web user does.

Pros: you can do anything a person can do. Pages with Javascript "just work." You look just like a person, if you put in the appropriate delays. You don't have to figure out how their cookies and authentication stuff works.

Cons: Harder to debug, may require a dedicated computer, slower. Steep learning curve because a browser is a complicated app with many concurrent tasks and lots of confusing APIs.

2. A web library. Perl's LWP is good, and LWP:: Simple is easy to learn. I'm sure .NET's HttpWebRequest is the same thing.