Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    139

    Unanswered: Problems after database split

    We have had some problems before and after database has been split. The problem is an unrecognized database. We receive the message that the database needs repairing. We get everyone out of the database and then we say yes to the access question do you want to repair and then we can get back in. We had the problem before and then after the database was split. I have a concern that to me could be a problem. They are using a wireless network on this database. I have another database that is running with no problems and all users are wired. On this database, we have a combination of a couple of wired users and about 10 wireless users. Does anyone have any comments about the wireless situation? Do you think this could be causing my problems?

    Any comments are appreciated!
    B&R

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    3,713
    And are your users complaining about not being able to read/access tables?
    Back to Access ... ADO is not the way to go for speed ...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    139
    Yes, they cannot read the tables!

    B&R

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    3,713
    Next question: What is your linking mechanism to the BE db? Are they linked from within the FE? Are you using ADO or DAO?
    Back to Access ... ADO is not the way to go for speed ...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    139
    I link the table through the FE and post it on the server. When the techs sign on, it copies down the FE with the links in place. However, I need to mention that I link the tables when the FE is on a remote terminal so the links are appropriate. I then copy to the folder on the server for all to access.

    I do not know what ADO or DAO are so you probably know I am not a programmer.

    Thanks for all your help!
    B&R

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    1,424
    Provided Answers: 8
    From read this my gut is telling me there a link problem

    look in tools -> Database utilities -> linked table manager

    see where the tables are pointing to

    is the BE in the same place.

    check if pointing to H:\database\be.mdb

    does the computer in question see H:\database\be.mdb

    also can the user read write to that folder

    simple test right in that folder and click new create a text file
    hope this help

    See clear as mud


    StePhan McKillen
    the aim is store once, not store multiple times
    Remember... Optimize 'til you die!
    Progaming environment:
    Access based on my own environment: DAO3.6/A97/A2000/A2003/A2007/A2010
    VB based on my own environment: vb6 sp5
    ASP based on my own environment: 5.6
    VB-NET based on my own environment started 2007
    SQL-2005 based on my own environment started 2008
    MYLE
    YOUR PASSWORD IS JUST LIKE YOUR TOOTHBRUSH DON'T SHARE IT.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •