Unanswered: Trying to connect to MySQL using PHP

Hi,

First post.

I'm a total PHP newbie. I'm trying to get a simple db up and running so I can submit a form and take people's email addresses to be on my mailing list.

Here's the deal:

I have two files, one db_login.php with that looks like this:
    <?php
    $db_host="mysql213.secureserver.net";
    $db_database="mydbname";
    $db_username="myusername";
    $db_password="mypassword";
    ?>

That php file lives in the same folder (root/html) as the following file (called phptest.php:
    <html>
    <head>
    <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=windows-1252">
    <title>New Page 1</title>
    </head>
    <body>
    <p>&nbsp;</p>
    <p>
    <?php
    include(db_login.php);
    $connection=mysql_connect($db_host,$db_database,$d b_password);
    if (!$connection) {
    die ("Could not connect to the db");
    }
    ?>
    </body>
    </html>

When I browse to phptest.php I get the following error:
    Warning: main(db_loginphp): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/content/j/o/h/johnnybregar/html/html/phptest.php on line 13

Warning: main(db_loginphp): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/content/j/o/h/johnnybregar/html/html/phptest.php on line 13

Warning: main(): Failed opening 'db_loginphp' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/local/lib/php') in /home/content/j/o/h/johnnybregar/html/html/phptest.php on line 13

Warning: mysql_connect(): Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/tmp/mysql.sock' (2) in /home/content/j/o/h/johnnybregar/html/html/phptest.php on line 14
    Could not connect to the db

Is my PHP totally messed up? Or are these directories insane? I'm lost and could use a helping hand to get up and running. Nowhere do I have a directory structure like what it is looking for....

Thanks,

Johnny B.

Provided Answers: 59