Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    9

    Unanswered: Btrieve error 171

    Hi there,

    We are using use TITAN tbTable in my desktop applications it run good, but now I have a ISAPI (web application) connected to pervasive database and in some servers I receive the error Btrieve Error 171. DBI Error Code = Titan (BDE) Error 171 trying to open a database.

    Can some body help me ?


    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    1,109
    Provided Answers: 4
    A few questions:
    - Does the ISAPI application use Titan as well?
    - How does the ISAPI application open the data file(s)? Posting code is best.
    - What version of PSQL are you using?
    - Is the database yours or is it a third party application database?
    - Is database security enabled on the database?
    Mirtheil Software
    Certified Pervasive Developer
    Certified Pervasive Technician
    Custom Btrieve/VB development
    http://www.mirtheil.com
    I do not answer questions by email. Please post on the forum.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    9
    - Does the ISAPI application use Titan as well?
    yes, I use Titan in Isapi and CGI.

    - How does the ISAPI application open the data file(s)? Posting code is best.
    I open it normally, I don't understand "Posting code", can you explaim me ?

    - What version of PSQL are you using?
    PSQL 9.50

    - Is the database yours or is it a third party application database?
    NO

    - Is database security enabled on the database?
    YES

    I have specified in the TtbDatabase connection
    aliasName =\\servername\path\

    I have this error for years, some time I resolve reinstalling the pervasive client but I don't know wich is the problem.

    Thanks in advantage

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    1,109
    Provided Answers: 4
    If your database is secured (and requires a username/password through PCC for example), then you may need to specify a different way of opening the files.
    - Is the database yours or is it a third party application database?
    NO
    No really isn't an answer for the above question.

    As far as posting your code, I'm looking for the Delphi Code where you specify the location of the files and the Open call. I haven't worked with Titan for a number of years (I prefer C# and/or VB to Delphi and used PDAC in Delphi).
    Mirtheil Software
    Certified Pervasive Developer
    Certified Pervasive Technician
    Custom Btrieve/VB development
    http://www.mirtheil.com
    I do not answer questions by email. Please post on the forum.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    9
    Thank you very much for your help.

    -We are connecting to the data base as Classic (OS authentication and authorization) and we never need to put Login and password it take OPerating system authentication.

    - It is our own data base.

    - Windows XP as hosting server

    - Delphi 5

    - This is the code, a easy Delphi CGI, It only try to open a table, it run good
    in some servers

    http://12.149.78.167/ra/test_error.exe/test

    but in other with same configuration haver error :

    Btrieve Error 171. DBI Error Code = Titan (BDE) Error 171

    .
    .
    .
    procedure TWebModule1.WebModule1WebActionItem3Action(Sender: TObject;
    Request: TWebRequest; Response: TWebResponse; var Handled: Boolean);
    begin
    tbDatabase1.AliasName := '\\ra-486\sys\appl\';
    Try
    tbTable1.open;
    response.content := 'The table was open...'
    except
    On e : exception do
    begin
    response.content := 'Error openning...<br>' + E.Message;
    end;
    end;
    end;

    As you can see it is a very easy example, what happen ?, I'm really frustrated.


    Thank you, one more time.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    1,109
    Provided Answers: 4
    What's the difference between servers where it works and where it doesn't? Is the "AliasName" different? If so, how?
    Mirtheil Software
    Certified Pervasive Developer
    Certified Pervasive Technician
    Custom Btrieve/VB development
    http://www.mirtheil.com
    I do not answer questions by email. Please post on the forum.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    9
    No, the aliasname is the same, because I openning the same table, data base and engine, that is the point, I say about aliasname because the desktop application always work and the main code's difference is the aliasname specification between CGI and desktop applications

    \\ra-486\sys\appl\ ---> for CGI
    H:\appl\ ---> for desktop

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    1,109
    Provided Answers: 4
    Still sounds like a permissions issue when run as a web application. If the desktop app works and the web app fails, it's most likely a permission error.
    Double check that IUSR_machinename (where the web server runs) has proper rights on the remote server (\\ra-486\sys\appl).
    Mirtheil Software
    Certified Pervasive Developer
    Certified Pervasive Technician
    Custom Btrieve/VB development
    http://www.mirtheil.com
    I do not answer questions by email. Please post on the forum.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •