Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    74

    Unanswered: Display setting when trying to runInstaller

    Hi

    I'm currently running oracle 9i on a solaris 8 server and I'm in the process of upgrading the database to 9.2 from my machine using exceed. I have copied the software onto the server and have set my DISPLAY, but when running ./runInstaller I'm getting the below error message. I'm trying to install the software and then upgrade the database.

    Do you think it's firewall issues?


    Exception in thread "main" java.lang.InternalError: Can't connect to X11 window server using '194.80.195.23:0' as the value of the DISPLAY variable.
    at sun.awt.X11GraphicsEnvironment.initDisplay(Native Method)
    at sun.awt.X11GraphicsEnvironment.<clinit>(X11Graphic sEnvironment.java:59)
    at java.lang.Class.forName0(Native Method)
    at java.lang.Class.forName(Class.java:120)
    at java.awt.GraphicsEnvironment.getLocalGraphicsEnvir onment(GraphicsEnvironment.java:58)
    at java.awt.Window.<init>(Window.java:186)
    at java.awt.Frame.<init>(Frame.java:315)
    at java.awt.Frame.<init>(Frame.java:262)
    at oracle.sysman.oii.oiic.OiicInstaller.main(OiicInst aller.java:593)

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Posts
    90
    try display=194.80.195.23:0.0

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    74
    Hi

    I have already tried this but no luck

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Dominican Republic
    Posts
    721
    how about, at the terminal, on the client, you try: xhost +

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    West Palm Beach, FL
    Posts
    2,713

    Talking



    PS: You may need to execute xhost + as root.

    The person who says it can't be done should not interrupt the person doing it. -- Chinese proverb

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,296
    export DISPLAY=[IP_of_Your_Terminal]:0.0
    - The_Duck
    you can lead someone to something but they will never learn anything ...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    74
    Didnt work

    /usr/openwin/bin/xhost: unable to open display "194.80.195.23:0.0"

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Dominican Republic
    Posts
    721
    Since you mentioned Exceed, I believe you're on Windows. It has to do all this for you (that is, let the server connect to your display). Something might be blocking the connection or something.

    Anyways, I regullary dont use exceed at work (because of the license), I rather try the GNU Cygwin and it works just ok for me (download the xorg package which is the one that lets you run X windows application).

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    74
    Thanks for that, I will def give that a go and will see how I get on.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    A couple of additional "details" are needed, IMO.
    1) you need to be using some sort of "smart" utility that supports X-11 forwarding; such as Secure-CRT or ssh -x
    2) You need a .Xauthority file properly created in "oracle" $HOME directory.

    Simply put if "xclock" fails to pop a frame on your PC, then OUI will fail too.
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,296
    like Ana said, xclock is a good test

    is it safe to say you have done the following?
    1. start up reflection X
    2. in the ssh app (putty or whatever) window configuration I first need to LOAD the connection, then goto SSH/Tunnels/ then check the "Enable X11 Forwarding" box with X Display location = localhost:0
    -- be sure to go back to "Session" and click SAVE, then open that saved ssh connection

    if you don't do that second step (in Putty at least) then it won't work.
    - The_Duck
    you can lead someone to something but they will never learn anything ...

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    74
    Hiya ALL

    I have managed to get it working, thanks for your help.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Liverpool, NY USA
    Posts
    2,509
    Quote Originally Posted by bmistry
    Didnt work

    /usr/openwin/bin/xhost: unable to open display "194.80.195.23:0.0"
    The ip he used was an example. Did you substitute the ip for the SPECIFIC machine that you are running the installer on. If you are running it throught telnet, then use your client IP. If you are on the server, use it's IP.

    <edited>
    Sorry, I didn't read the last message before posting. I am leaving my question as an example.
    Bill
    You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •