Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Unanswered: Question about the account SQL runs under

Hello everyone.
    I am pretty new to SQL Server, but I have been reading a lot lately.
    One of the things that I have gone over extensively lately is backups (I didn't understand it til recently.)

I have a question: right now, I need to be able to backup my SQL database to a file server; both the DB and TLogs. I don't have room for them on the local drive right now, so this is my last option.

Here is the catch.
    The SQL server is not part of our domain. The file server box IS part of our domain.

In order to backup across the network, I need to change the account that SQL and the agent runs under.

Would this work:

Create a new account on the SQL box and make it part of the administrators group. Make the SQL server and SQL agent run under that account.

On the File server, create a local account. Make it the same (username and password) that was created on the SQL box. This should allow me to backup my DB to the share.

Would that work?

Lastly, by changing the account SQL runs under, does that change anything in the way that SQL runs? Does it affect the way users authenticate to SQL (Right now, they authenticate using SQL authentication)

Still new and learning. I appreciate the help

I'm not a MS domain hero (to be honest not very fond of it either) but regarding to the last question: I can't imagin that it will make any difference. It's a server setting and that will not be effected by the account it runs under ... asuming that account has enough permissions on the local server to actualy run the SQL Server.

HTH ... a little.

Gr,
    Yveau

> SELECT * FROM users WHERE clue > 0;
    Empty set (0.00 sec)

Quote Originally Posted by Yveau01