Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Form Entry

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    162

    Unanswered: Form Entry

    I have a form I'm using to input data into a table.

    I'm using a query on a command button that reads from two fields on the form and adds to the table.

    The forms has a tech number you select in a pull down and a box that is used to scan in serial numbers.

    I want have it so each time he scans a serial number it runs the query to add then tabs back the box and allows him to scan another box in.

    So all he has to do is select the tech then just scan all the equipment he is being issued.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Préverenges, Switzerland
    Posts
    3,740
    seems like a cool idea.
    what's the problem?

    izy
    currently using SS 2008R2

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    162
    need to code it to do this, I'm not to familiar with vba code.

    I can do an onenter vba, but not sure what the code needs to be

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Préverenges, Switzerland
    Posts
    3,740
    fine.
    but which part is causing the hiccup?
    populate the combo, scan the numbers, build the query, execute the query?

    izy
    currently using SS 2008R2

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Préverenges, Switzerland
    Posts
    3,740
    i'm not trying to be a PITA
    - here is some generic stuff (can't answer better unless you ask better).

    private sub FillCombo()
    me.myCombo.rowsource = "SELECT this, that FROM myTable ORDER BY aField;"
    end sub

    private sub someButton_click()
    dim strSQL as string
    strSQL = "INSERT INTO someTable(thisNumericField, thatTextField) Values(" & me.myBoxNumeric & ", '" & me.myBoxText & "');"
    currentdb.execute strSQL
    end sub

    izy
    Last edited by izyrider; 12-14-06 at 14:12.
    currently using SS 2008R2

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    162
    When i scan the box it adds it then returns the the tech combo box. I want it to return to the box number. How to I make it return to the same box.

    I have it run the query when enters is hit, when u scan the box it puts in number and hits enter automatically. Then i gots to the tech number combo box.
    I need it to go back to the box number field.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    3,713
    Quote Originally Posted by Jay59
    When i scan the box it adds it then returns the the tech combo box. I want it to return to the box number. How to I make it return to the same box.

    I have it run the query when enters is hit, when u scan the box it puts in number and hits enter automatically. Then i gots to the tech number combo box.
    I need it to go back to the box number field.
    When you scan, what control is it scanning to? You say it's returning to the tech combo ... Are you telling it to (thru code or tab order)? What is the last control that is gone to in this form? Have that control set the focus back to your box number control ...
    Back to Access ... ADO is not the way to go for speed ...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    162
    its using tab order, but i want it to return to the same tab

    what would the code be for that

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    The Bottom of The Barrel
    Posts
    6,102
    Provided Answers: 1
    yourControl. setfocus
    oh yeah... documentation... I have heard of that.

    *** What Do You Want In The MS Access Forum? ***

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •