Unanswered: Simple join/query problem - I'm a newbie

Hello All!

I've done just your basic queries and have no problems with those, but now I find myself into a project that has two tables - with identical columns - that must be joined.

Both tables (one named Occupancy, the other Reservations) have the following columns:

CheckIn, CheckOut, TimeStamp, RoomNumber, BookingType, BookingAgent, ConfirmNum_FK, RoomCategory_FK

When a user tries to make a reservation, I want to join the CheckIn, CheckOut, RoomNumber, RoomCategory columns from both tables to find out how many rooms have been booked between two dates submitted by a user.

I've tried this query, but it's not working:

SELECT CheckIn, CheckOut, RoomNumber, RoomCategory
    FROM occupancy, reservations
    WHERE CheckIn < '2006-12-02' AND CheckOut > '2006-12-26';

The "testing" dates shown in the above query will be replaced with Vars, but I don't think that's the problem.

Appreciate all assistance,

Expatriate

Check out this article and also might need a redesign of your tables, you should not have a separate reservation/unoccupied tables.

Quote Originally Posted by guelphdad
    Check out this article and also might need a redesign of your tables, you should not have a separate reservation/unoccupied tables.
    Guelphdad -

Yes, I've agonized over this issue (one table or two) and ***thought*** that two made more sense but now I'm rethinking that (again) because I'd like to do counts on both occupied and reserved room types which I apparently can't do by Unioning both tables - which I found out how to do yesterday.

So maybe the best way would be to create one table that would hold all checkin and checkout dates with a column that would indicated which are occupied and which are reserved, a FK column referring to room cateogry, and another FK column referring to the room number that belongs to that category?