Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    24

    Unanswered: any db master knows this ?

    whenever i moved db (vbulletin,IPB,SMF,WebWiz dB) from old server to new server a charset problem occured

    we can not solve this problem about 4 months

    i have asked this approximately 11 forums but nobody

    any db master to be able to solve this problem ?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Tilburg, Netherlands
    Posts
    73
    If you didn't provide more info, I can imagine why nobody could solve the problem.
    Please give us a lot more info about OS, version, scenario, etc. Then we might be able to help you out.

    Gr,
    Yveau

    > SELECT * FROM users WHERE clue > 0;
    Empty set (0.00 sec)


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    24
    Quote Originally Posted by Yveau01
    If you didn't provide more info, I can imagine why nobody could solve the problem.
    Please give us a lot more info about OS, version, scenario, etc. Then we might be able to help you out.

    Gr,
    Yveau

    what kind of info ?

    my localhost is

    * Apache 2.2.3
    * MySQL 5.0.27
    * PHP 5.2.0 & PHP 4.4.4
    * phpMyAdmin 2.9.1.1
    * FileZilla FTP Server 0.9.20
    * OpenSSL 0.9.8d

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    out on a limb
    Posts
    13,692
    Provided Answers: 59
    so what character set were you using on your old server?
    what character set were you using on your New server?

    consider settign the default character set in the new server to be the same as the old server, if you cannot do that then consider changing the character set for each table on the new server to match the old server.

    you may need to do a dump of the data,
    dump the schema,
    then edit the schema and reload it
    the reolad the data

    suitable tools may include MySQL Administrator, PHPMyAdmin......
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    24
    Quote Originally Posted by healdem
    so what character set were you using on your old server?
    what character set were you using on your New server?

    consider settign the default character set in the new server to be the same as the old server, if you cannot do that then consider changing the character set for each table on the new server to match the old server.

    you may need to do a dump of the data,
    dump the schema,
    then edit the schema and reload it
    the reolad the data

    suitable tools may include MySQL Administrator, PHPMyAdmin......
    Both of them ISO-8859-1 (LATIN-1)

    you may need to do a dump of the data,
    dump the schema,
    then edit the schema and reload it
    the reolad the data

    how ?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    out on a limb
    Posts
    13,692
    Provided Answers: 59
    Quote Originally Posted by zodehala
    Both of them ISO-8859-1 (LATIN-1)




    how ?
    suitable tools may include MySQL Administrator, PHPMyAdmin......
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    24
    Quote Originally Posted by healdem
    suitable tools may include MySQL Administrator, PHPMyAdmin......
    is it possible to exchange char

    for examle

    ý => İ
    - =>

    how can i change that char in db at one time (as group )

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •