Thread: Sqleditors

Sqleditors

I'm new to SQL 2005 Express and I'm trying to create a table on a new
    database. I'm using the SQL Management Studio Express. I was able to
    use this program to create the database with no problems. However, when
    I try to create a table in the new database. I get this error:

TITLE: Microsoft SQL Server Management Studio Express
    ------------------------------

The system cannot find the file specified.
    (Microsoft.SqlServer.Express.SQLEditors)

The error is the same when connecting from Visual Studio 2005 Server Explorer. I test the connection and is succedded but when ckick OK, the error is the same as in SQL Management Studio Express.

S.O.: Win XP SP2
    Visual Studio 2005 with SQL 2005 Express.

I apreciate some comments, i dont know what to do. At the microsoft forums they didn't answer.

Thank's in advanced

You may connect do the engine but could be a problem on a specific dll when creating a table.
    Try to reinstall/update SSMSEE: http://download.microsoft.com/downlo...005_SSMSEE.msi

Inté Já.
    PaL

Try creating it using a SQL script.
    Looks like the know bug in the security of SQL 2005. Are you authorized by a domain group (builtin\administrators perhaps) or is your domain account added as a login in the SQL Server or are you using SQL logins ?
    My guess is that you're authorized via the builtin\administrators. That's where the GUI creates a problem. Each owner has it'sown default schema, and a group does not. Since you're probably not a specific login/user in your SQL Server, you're a member of a group and so you end up with no default schema ...

When you (or better: the GUI) try to run
    Code:
    create table Yveau (...)
    the GUI failes, because no default schema can be used to put the table in ... Running a script which says
    Code:
    create table dbo.Yveau (...)
    will work, because in that case you can mention the schema to use.