Thread: DSUM YTD Help

Unanswered: DSUM YTD Help

Access noob here.

I am trying to build a table of running year-to-date totals using the DSUM function in an expression. I have one source table, a query result called subQuery_2, with the following:

Period (a date, using the month and year)
    District_Code (text, A, B, or C)
    Service_Code (1 through 18)
    Factor (double, assigned to district_code and service_code in another table)
    Annual_Total (double, assigned to district_code and service_code in another table)

Monthly_Target (a calculated expression = Factor X Annual_Total)

I have built the YTD results incrementally and they have worked at each step so far. However, when I introduce the District_Code parameter, the DSUM is bombing and I cannot understand how to fix it.

The SQL code is
    Code:
    SELECT subQuery_2.Period, subQuery_2.District_Code, 
    subQuery_2.Service_Code, subQuery_2.Monthly_Target, 
    CDbl(DSum("subQuery_2.Monthly_Target","subQuery_2",
    " subQuery_2.District_Code =" & subQuery_2.District_Code & 
    " AND subQuery_2.Service_Code =" & subQuery_2.Service_Code &
     " AND MONTH(subQuery_2.Period)<=" & Month(subQuery_2.Period) & 
    " And YEAR(subQuery_2.Period)=" & Year(subQuery_2.Period))) AS YTD_Target
    FROM subQuery_2
    GROUP BY subQuery_2.Period, subQuery_2.District_Code, subQuery_2.Service_Code, 
    subQuery_2.Monthly_Target, Year(subQuery_2.Period), Month(subQuery_2.Period)
    ORDER BY Year(subQuery_2.Period), Month(subQuery_2.Period);
    The problem is with the expression in the DSUM criteria
    Code:
    " subQuery_2.District_Code =" & subQuery_2.District_Code & " AND subQuery_2.Service_Code =" & subQuery_2.Service_Code & " AND MONTH(subQuery_2.Period)<=" & Month(subQuery_2.Period) & " And YEAR(subQuery_2.Period)=" & Year(subQuery_2.Period)
    The query runs, but produces errors in the YTD_Target field, with the following error message: