Thread: auto email

Unanswered: auto email

I am new to this site, and hope to find it useful, I am only a beginner developer, have little to no VB knowledge as yet, however have designed in my opinion site good Databases, however the more I seem to do, the more people want, and I find miyself going into uncharted seas.

SUMMARY
    I need a database that can do the following, how would I go about this, I have enclosed a flowchart to explain what I am basically looking at, it needs to be simple and to the point.

Using ACCESS 2000
    Multiple Users
    The Primary Key will be a Run/Job number (searchable, select from list)
    Each departments needs to input comments against a run/job number (text)
    Each comments then needs to be automatically emailed to specified personnel via email, with the option of attaching files.
    Search screen
    View each run/job, in 'date entered comment' order via report.

Any ideas, I do get there in the end through painstaking self teaching, but thought, somebody may have far more knowledge and wht better way to learn than tap into unlimited internet resources.

Is it possible to automatically email a list of people when I new records is entered.
    Attached Files Attached Files

Hello simon4amiee and welcome to the forum.

I was in your same shoes a couple of years ago (and still am to some extent). This is where I came for knowledge, and I wasn't disappointed, hope it's the same for you.

Multiple Users
    First off, I'd recommend using a front-end / back-end setup style (you may have to research this a little more). This may also require you to learn some VB. It's pretty user-friendly programming as far as programming codes go, and if you have any background in programming it's fairly easy to pick up with help from the guys on this forum.

The Primary Key will be a Run/Job number (searchable, select from list)