Unanswered: sql server 2000 jobs...

Hi. i'm new to sql server jobs as i have never used the feature manually before. here is what i want to do but i don't know if it's possible.

we have a report we use that's accessed from an asp page. currently, the page uses a stored procedure to generate the data. well, as time has progressed, we've added many items to the report. it now takes a good 15-20 seconds to pull the report. what i want to do is run a job that will compile the data for me and just dump that information into a new table. does that make sense?

can this be done with sql server jobs? thank you.

Provided Answers: 6
    sure but the data will never be current.

why not just see if your query can be tuned. got code?
    “If one brings so much courage to this world the world has to kill them or break them, so of course it kills them. The world breaks every one and afterward many are strong at the broken places. But those that will not break it kills. It kills the very good and the very gentle and the very brave impartially. If you are none of these you can be sure it will kill you too but there will be no special hurry.” Earnest Hemingway, A Farewell To Arms.

well, after looking around, it says i can make a schedule to run it every so often. what do you mean by the data will never be current? i don't want the report to display current data since it's such a hog on resources. i just want to pull the numbers and dump them into a new table. does that make any sense?

Quote Originally Posted by bla4free
    well, after looking around, it says i can make a schedule to run it every so often. what do you mean by the data will never be current? i don't want the report to display current data since it's such a hog on resources. i just want to pull the numbers and dump them into a new table. does that make any sense?
    it makes sense, as long as you put something like "report processed on such and such a date" so that users know how stale the report is.