Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    20

    Unanswered: scripts to automate

    any one have scripts or any experience for automating takeover for HADR?

    any suggestins or ideas would be appreciated to get us started.

    Currently IBM does not have anything like that.

    TIA.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,737
    IBM supplies a two server license for TSA (Tivoli Server Automation) with each HADR license (with ESE or purchased separately for WSE, Express).

    TSA is not foolproof, and determines whether a takeover is necessary based on certain resources defined, such as network connections, etc. It does not actually attempt to connect to a primary database to see if it responds. In the case of an instance crash, TSA will restart the instance instead of doing a takeover.

    The scripts that TSA uses are supplied in the following directory path (may be slightly different for AIX):
    /opt/IBM/db2/V8.1/ha/salinux
    M. A. Feldman
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for z/OS and OS/390

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    20

    scripts

    Thanks for such a prompt respose!
    I really appreciate it.

    but we do not have TSM so I am looking for some scripts or related.
    Can i find those is normal installation of db2 in aix?
    Thanks!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,737
    It is not TSM (Tivoli Storage Manager) it is TSA. Correction to my first post: TSA is Tivoli System Automation for Multiplatforms.

    If you have a license for HADR, then you entitled to a license for TSA. TSA comes included on CD-ROMs for DB2 8.2 ESE or later, or you can get it with Passport Advantage at the IBM website.

    I don't know where the scripts are in AIX, but they should be under a directory called HA.
    M. A. Feldman
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for z/OS and OS/390

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    20

    Tsa

    Isn't TSA for linux only?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,737
    Quote Originally Posted by oraora
    Isn't TSA for linux only?
    According to these links, it also runs on AIX, but I only used it on Linux:
    http://www-306.ibm.com/software/tivo...platforms.html
    http://www-941.ibm.com/collaboration...ator=printable
    M. A. Feldman
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for z/OS and OS/390

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •