Unanswered: SSIS Packages in a Cluster

I'm still new to SSIS packages and I'm NOT a developer. I am in the process of doing preliminary/prepatory work for migrating our SQL 2000 platforms to SQL 2005.

I am having a REAL headache with migrating/moving DTS packages from SQL 2000 to SQL 2005. Here are things that I know :

1. I know that some packages cannot be migrated due to ActiveX issues and other issues. Fine.

2. I know that I can install DTS backwards compatibility components on the server in order to be able to edit the DTS packages using a SQL 2000 DTS GUI. Fine.

3. I know that I can use the Migration wizard to migrate packages (and that some of them can't be migrated this way). Fine.

Here's what I don't know/or am conjecturing:

1. In a clustered environment, I have to edit the <%Install Path%>/90/DTS/Bin/MsDtsSrvr.ini.xml file to set the <ServerName> property to the Virtual Server name. Correct? Why can't M$ do this for me?

2. Do I HAVE to export the SSIS package to a .DTSX file in order to be able to edit it with Visual Studio? Is there ANY way around this?

3. If I am running in a clustered environment and I use the File System for storing packages, then the pacakges must be stored on a shared volume, right?

4. I did not find SQL Server Integration services on the B- (Passive) node. Do I have to install it separately onto the B server (much like having to install the Client Tools)?

If anyone has some guidance or tips on running SSIS in this brave, new, wonderful world, I would sure appreciate it.

And yes, I am going to go out right now and order a new book on SSIS.

Regards,

hmscott
    Last edited by hmscott; 01-17-07 at 12:35.
    Have you hugged your backup today?

Read this link and weep. They've taken one of the easiest components of SQL 2000 and made it a total administrative and configuration nightmare.

It would appear that Notification Services has similar setup/configuration issues when run in a clustered environment.