Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    24

    Unanswered: using RMAN for recovery

    Hello,

    I have backuped the USERS tablespace from a database running on 9i and now I want to take the backup file and restore it on another database on a different server. Can anybody help me with that?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    24
    .....Anybody?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    West Palm Beach, FL
    Posts
    2,713

    Question


    How did you back it up?

    The person who says it can't be done should not interrupt the person doing it. -- Chinese proverb

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    24
    as suggested by the thread title, using RMAN.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Osnabrueck Germany
    Posts
    59
    Hi,
    why to you try this with rman? I always uses exp and imp.
    Juergen Ladwig

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    West Palm Beach, FL
    Posts
    2,713

    Talking


    True, the best (easyest) way for copying a tablespace from one instance to another is using the TRANSPORTABLE TABLESPACES option from exp/imp.

    -- OR -- exp/imp the schema (option owner={schema name})

    The person who says it can't be done should not interrupt the person doing it. -- Chinese proverb

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,296
    read the RMAN documentation. you can't BACK UP a tablespace and then RESTORE that one tablespace onto a totally different database.

    That is crazy-talk.

    RMAN backups are strictly for the database you are backing up.

    analogy: I have insurance on my house. Your house gets broken into. You cannot use my insurance to make claims on your property. Different houses (ie: different databases).

    As mentioned above, just use export/import to move logical.
    - The_Duck
    you can lead someone to something but they will never learn anything ...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    24
    Imagine if the database totally crashed and I was supposed to re-install it. In this situation if I cannot restore what I have taken from RMAN, then what is the use of RMAN?!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Liverpool, NY USA
    Posts
    2,509
    It's not that you can't rebuild your database using the rman backup, it's that you can't restore only a single schema or file using rman. The restore has to be database consistant. That is what emp/imp or data pump is for.
    Bill
    You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    24
    No problem. Imagine I want to restore the whole database using RMAN. The problem is that how to tell RMAN that this is a backup piece.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    West Palm Beach, FL
    Posts
    2,713

    Talking

    Quote Originally Posted by HSN
    No problem. Imagine I want to restore the whole database using RMAN. The problem is that how to tell RMAN that this is a backup piece.

    RMAN knows which backup piece it needs to restore, either from the rman catalog or the controlfile depending how you performed the backup.

    If YOU want to know, use the LIST BACKUPSET command.

    The person who says it can't be done should not interrupt the person doing it. -- Chinese proverb

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,296
    Quote Originally Posted by HSN
    No problem. Imagine I want to restore the whole database using RMAN.
    The problem is that how to tell RMAN that this is a backup piece.
    fair question, but as long as you have the controlfile you can restore
    your RMAN FULL backup of your database on any server anywhere you want.
    the controlfile and RMAN know what backsets you need, etc.

    The only assumption is that you have the same access to the tapes or an
    identical path to the disk you originally backed up to.

    ie: if the original backup was backed up to: /u01/oracle/backup/
    then create a soft-link (or filesystem path) in your new server with an
    identical path and throw your rman backup there.

    ie - setup your new server and nomount your duplicate SID then:
    Code:
    rman target / catalog rmancat/rmancat@rcat 
    
    RUN{
    set until time = '04-AUG-06';
    ALLOCATE CHANNEL CH1 TYPE 'SBT_TAPE';
    RESTORE CONTROLFILE TO '/export/home/oracle/xxx_ctrl';
    REPLICATE CONTROLFILE FROM '/export/home/oracle/xxx_ctrl';
    RELEASE CHANNEL CH1;
    }
    ALTER DATABASE MOUNT;
    RUN {
    set until time = '04-AUG-06';
    ALLOCATE CHANNEL ch1 TYPE 'SBT_TAPE';
    RESTORE DATABASE;
    RELEASE CHANNEL ch1;
    }
    Last edited by The_Duck; 01-24-07 at 17:36.
    - The_Duck
    you can lead someone to something but they will never learn anything ...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •