Unanswered: SPROC for managing users

I'm fairly new to SQL server, and I'm helping someone who has a fairly high employee turnover rate.

I would like to create an interface that would allow her to add/edit/delete users and their permissions without having to get into management studio. I'll build a form in the front end application that will presumably pass parameters to a SProc that will do the work.

Her users fall into two categories - full and read only. The tasks she'll need to perform are very simple.

1) Add new user with full access to all tables
    2) Add new user with read only access to all tables
    3) Change user access from read only to full
    4) Change user access from full to read only
    3) Delete user

Can someone point me in the right direction on this? Some sample code would be nice, but at the very least I'd like a better term to search by..

Searching for "stored procedure user permissions" brings up tons of hits that mostly deal with who can and can't run a sproc..

Fact 1: This would involve inserts, updates, and deletes to system tables.

Fact 2: DML against system tables are bad things, unless you are fully cognizant of your actions and possible ramifications.

Fact 3 derived from Fact 1 and Fact 2 ... This is a bad thing. If she isn't familiar with database administration practices and procedures, she needs to find someone who is. Experience is cheap, compared to the cost of lost or corrupted databases.

Besides, if we give you the code to write it, and the system tables change (which Microsoft can and will do at will), how will you rewrite it to work, assuming it didn't hose up the system tables.

On so many levels ... this is bad.

-- This is all just a Figment of my Imagination --

Don't you think this could be simply accomplished using system sprocs Tom without touching base tables?
    Testimonial:
    pootle flump
    ur codings are working excelent.