I am a programmer, not a dba, so please excuse my ignorance if I use the wrong terms in this question.

We have a table that contains Notes, with a Many to One relationship with a Customer (the CustomerID is in the Notes table as a foreign key). The Customer has a Many to One with a Membership table (the MemberID is in the Customer table as a foreign key).

We send a Notes report to the Member. To do this we use:

Select n.* from Notes n, Customer c
where n.CustomerId = c.CustomerID
and n.downloaded = 0
and c.MemberId = <passed in MemberID>

The n.downloaded is a field that indicates whether the Note had already been sent to the member. When the report is created it sets n.downloaded to = 1. n.downloaded is a 'bit' data type, which IIRC means it cannot be indexed/keyed.

There are over 180,000,000 records in the Notes table. Maybe you can imagine how long this report is taking to be generated. I think it is because Sybase has to do a complete table scan of Notes... would I be correct?

I would like to suggest to management that we make two changes to the Notes table.

1a. Change the n.downloaded to a byte. Then it can be indexed; or

1b. Add a new byte field (n.downloadedbyte) to be used in place of the current n.downloaded bit field (deprecate the bit field). We think adding a field would be less time consuming.

and

2. Add a MemberId field to Notes.

The resulting sql command could be:

Select n.* from Notes
where n.downloadedbyte = 0
and n.MemberID = <passed in value>

Since both MemberID and n.downloadedbyte fields can be indexed/keyed, the resulting report should be blazingly fast.

However (there are always howevers), I realize putting MemberID in Notes violates some 'laws' of db design (denormalization?), but I personally am fine with it if we can reduce our report generation from the current 4 to 22 hours (for large Members) to under 30 min. Second, and probably the most important, is how long it will take to: