Table Design for Deep Inheritance ID Columns

Hi,

I am new to database and have a unique situation with regards to the design of tables that require nested query "look-ups." Let me explain my problem in more detail that may help the readers have a better understanding of the situation.

I am trying to design a blogging system that each "entry" can be assigned a set of "tags." For instance, an entry can have a set of categories associate with it: tagA, tagM, and tagZ. Now each tag can also contain a "set" of _subcategories_: tagM can have tagMa, tagMb, and tagMc subcategories which are related semantically to tagM, for whatever reason. This subcategori[fication] can go further deep by having tagMca, tagMcb, and so on. Think of it as a tree where every node can have a number of children.

I can create a table with tagID: unique for each tag, tagSuper: a tag that is a root to this node tag, if any. Now, as for the queries, when I seek to pull entries that have tagM associated with them, I would like to query entries with tagM and all its children nodes with no depth limit, that is tagM[a-c], tagMc[a-b] (5 subcategories + 1 tagM itself) in our example.

My question is, first, how to construct such query, second whether such approach is sound or should be banned altogether in favor of other designs?

Thank You

what you should consider is joe celko's nested set model which can return an entire subtree to any depth

if it's me, though, i would associate an entry with a set of tags, same as you, but i wouldn't attempt to return the subtree for that category -- if the entry is related to any subcategories, then i would link the entry to those subcategories, and if this means associating it with all the subcategories, becuae they're all relevant, then i would associate the entry with all the subcategories, because then i can continue to use the adjacency list model which is, to me, anyway, a lot simpler to understand and implement
    rudy.ca | @rudydotca