Unanswered: Hide + Show Cell

Im completely new to excel having never needed to use it until now. Basically i have this sheet which is filled in on a daily basis for a weekly period. On the last day of each week, i make any adjustments to the total after changes have been made, now at the moment i have the adjusted weight cell showing just the total of the cell with the weight + the adjust, this means that until friday i see unnecessary information as there have been no adjustments made and therefore no change to the total. What i would like is the Adj Weight cell hidden until any adjustments have actually been made, i realise this is probably quite a simple task but until i get myself familiarised with it, i am working with sheets created by the person previously in my job.

Day Total Week So Far

TOTAL NET SALES WEIGHT
    0.000 0.000
    = = = = = =
    TOTAL GROSS WEIGHT
    50.350 150.350
    - - - - - -
    CHANGE TONNAGE
    4.500 4.500
    - - - -
    Adjust Adj Weight

LESS SCRAPPINGS
    9.196 9.196 0.00 9.196
    - - - - - - - - -

GOOD GROSS PRODUCTION
    136.654 136.654 0.00 136.654
    = = = = = = = = =

now i assume its a simple if statement of some kind but i do not know the commands to hide and make a cell visible. Any help would be appreciated

Howdy, and welcome to the board and to Excel.

You can't hide individual cells (technically), but you can hide rows and/or columns. To hide/unhide them, on the menu bar across the top go to Format then choose either:

Row > Hide/Unhide

Column > Hide/Unhide
    old, slow, and confused
    but at least I'm inconsistent!

Rich
    (retired Excel 2003 user, 3/28/2008)

How to ask a question on forums

ok thats cool

so in that case, is there a way i can hide/unhide the column based on an event, ie the one i described where when an adjustment is made, could i potentially unhide the column when that happens?

thanks for the original help though.