Unanswered: Schema vs. multiple Databases

I am a newbie to DB2 UDB V9 for Linux, and your help is highly appreciated!

What's the best practice of:
    (1) Schema vs. multiple Databases -- Should I create a database for each application or create a different schema in ONE database? If later case, then how "big" would the database be able to "tolerate"?
    (2) tablespace design -- In my mainframe implementation, we create a separate tablespace for each table. Do you think that will work best for DB2 on Linux, too?

Hi
    You can create multiple schemas for a particular database. You don't have to create database for each and every application for db2. To create a schema db2 create schema <schema name>.

Regards
    Rajesh Krishnan

Provided Answers: 1
    Quote Originally Posted by db29999
    (1) Schema vs. multiple Databases -- Should I create a database for each application or create a different schema in ONE database? If later case, then how "big" would the database be able to "tolerate"?
    The answer is "it depends". In general, I think, you should create a separate database for each application, unless you have very compelling reasons not to.

Quote Originally Posted by db29999
    (2) tablespace design -- In my mainframe implementation, we create a separate tablespace for each table. Do you think that will work best for DB2 on Linux, too?
    The answer is, again, "it depends". Depends on the size of the table, typical access patterns, maintenance requirements (e.g. backup, restore, or load), etc.
    ---
    "It does not work" is not a valid problem statement.

Databases have a very different meaning on DB2 z/OS versus DB2 LUW. Unless the applications share the same data, they should be on a seperate database on DB2 LUW.

Best practice on z/OS is to create a separate tablespace for each table. This is not the case for LUW.