Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Pune , India
    Posts
    433

    Unanswered: db2diag message error

    i am recieving these messages on 1 of the server after i have upgraded clients to FP14

    2007-02-22-17.40.22.068000+330 I105332H319 LEVEL: Error
    PID : 2716 TID : 2792 PROC : javaw.exe
    INSTANCE: DB2 NODE : 000
    FUNCTION: DB2 UDB, common communication, sqlcctcpconnr, probe:42
    MESSAGE : DIA3207E The TCP/IP call "gethostbyname" returned h_errno="11001".

    any hints to track it...
    Rahul Singh
    Certified DB2 9 DBA / Application Developer

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Pune, India
    Posts
    27
    Hey Rahul,

    DIA3207E The TCP/IP call "gethostbyname" returned h_errno="1".

    This type of error indicates that IP address of the target machine is
    not being resolved correct. The tcpip node catalog information shows the
    machine's network alias.

    your problem has to do with your network configuration
    http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/de.../en-us/winsock
    /winsock/windows_sockets_error_codes_2.asp

    I have an old link, check this msdn site to see the error code you are getting.
    Eldho Mathew
    IBM DB2 UDB LUW Software Engineer

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Pune , India
    Posts
    433
    thanks
    But i am still clueless how to solve it
    The message is getting generated every 5 minutes regularly

    C:\Program Files\IBM\SQLLIB\BIN>db2 list node directory show detail

    Node Directory

    Number of entries in the directory = 1

    Node 1 entry:

    Node name = B0
    Comment =
    Directory entry type = LOCAL
    Protocol = TCPIP
    Hostname = BULL
    Service name = 50000
    Remote instance name = B0
    System =
    Operating system type = WIN

    which is correct ...
    What else to see ??
    Rahul Singh
    Certified DB2 9 DBA / Application Developer

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    471
    have you tried nslookup BULL and see for the answer..
    I never catalog db on hostname but use address
    it does not need a lookup to nameserver
    ok : if the address changes, you have to modify the catalog
    Best Regards, Guy Przytula
    DB2 UDB LUW certified V6/7/8

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Pune, India
    Posts
    27
    If you have any chages address or hostname, please varify your catalog configuration.

    For more details.Please refer the following link,

    http://www-128.ibm.com/developerwork...301chong2.html
    Eldho Mathew
    IBM DB2 UDB LUW Software Engineer

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Pune , India
    Posts
    433
    Server got restarted last evening and since then i havnt seen the same error
    seems like server needed some rest :-)
    Rahul Singh
    Certified DB2 9 DBA / Application Developer

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Pune, India
    Posts
    27
    !!! " hmm..

    You didn't allow her to take rest, that why she is just roared.

    If you can give me the db2diag.log entries for the matching PID or timestamp. I can tell you why she roared.

    [some where it detect n/w error...]
    Eldho Mathew
    IBM DB2 UDB LUW Software Engineer

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •