Unanswered: remedial variable question

I'm new to working in Oracle, I'm accessing the Oracle database using TOAD and simply trying to begin putting some dates into variables:

declare
    date_1 constant DATE := '01-jan-2007';
    date_2 constant DATE := '31-jan-2007';

begin

select
    a.column_1
    from
    table a
    where
    a.date_range between date_1 and date_2;

end;

The above follows some of the examples that I've found online but appears to be expecting an "into" after the select statement.

Can anyone point out the error here?
    Thanks,
    Bill

Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Provided Answers: 1
    INTO what, do you want the returned data to be placed?
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

Provided Answers: 4
    Yes, it is expecting INTO. This is an example based on Scott's schema:
    Code:
    DECLARE
      date_1 CONSTANT DATE := TO_DATE('01.01.1981', 'dd.mm.yyyy');
      date_2 CONSTANT DATE := TO_DATE('31.01.1982', 'dd.mm.yyyy');
      l_cnt  NUMBER;
    BEGIN
      SELECT COUNT(*)
        INTO l_cnt
    	FROM EMP
    	WHERE hiredate BETWEEN date_1 AND date_2;

dbms_output.put_line('Count = ' || TO_CHAR(l_cnt));
    END;
    / 

Count = 11

PL/SQL procedure successfully completed.
    Except the INTO you are missing, there's something else here. You said that 'date_1' is a DATE variable, but you put a CHARACTER STRING into it. To you, as a human, it surely looks like a date, but to Oracle it is just a string. It *may* compile and actually do something, depending on default NLS date format set in your database. But, what works here, doesn't have to work there (i.e. in another database with different settings).