Question Unanswered: Selecting version of remote SQL instance into local variable?

Hello all,
    I'm a bit new to SQL Server and T-SQL (my background is in DB2), so hoping you can help me with this. I'm writing a T-SQL script that's hopefully going to scan a bunch of SQL server instances and record the results. We've got a mix of SQL2K and SQL2K5 instances, and for part of my script I only want to run something if the remote instance is SQL2K.

I'd tested this on my local PC with several instances created and it worked fine. When I try and run it for instances located on other servers it barfs . From what I've found from looking up the error message it looks like I've got myself a loopback -- but I don't know how to get around it - any ideas please?

DECLARE @tempdata TABLE (scratch sql_variant)
    DECLARE @debug tinyint
    DECLARE @server sysname
    DECLARE @version varchar(20)
    SET @debug=1
    INSERT INTO @tempdata (scratch) EXEC ('[' + @server + '].master.dbo.sp_executesql N''SELECT SERVERPROPERTY(''''ProductVersion'''')''')
    SELECT @version = convert(varchar(100),scratch) from @tempdata
    DELETE FROM @tempdata
    IF @debug>0 BEGIN PRINT @server + ' is running SQL Server version: ' + @VERSION END
    IF charindex('8.00',@version) > 0 BEGIN
        PRINT 'SQL2K-only code goes here'

The error I get is:
    OLE DB provider "SQLNCLI" for linked server "SQLSERVER_INSTANCE" returned message "The transaction manager has disabled its support for remote/network transactions.".
    Msg 7391, Level 16, State 2, Line 1
    The operation could not be performed because OLE DB provider "SQLNCLI" for linked server "SQLSERVER_INSTANCE" was unable to begin a distributed transaction.

I get this error running from a SQL2K5 instance against both SQL2K or SQL2K5

TIA, moff.

on the wrong server
    Provided Answers: 6
    is the MS DTC started?