Unanswered: Btrieve file conversion

Hello, I am new to this BBS. I am a retired computer instructor with many years on mainframes and PC's.

I am doing some work for the office where my wife is employed. Here is my dilemma. They are using Peachtree Accounting Version 13 for DOS. They can not move to to Windows version of Peachtree because of special updates that were written for them. They would like me to write application using Visual Basic (I am certified through MS in it) to replace their Peachtree environment.

My problem is I need to find a conversion program to convert the Btrieve files into another database. I would prefer MS Access.

Can anyone help or give me suggestions?

Thanks,

Hi Sam. Welcome aboard.

about the only thing I've found is here. It's not free, but, it would surely save you a LOT of time.

I have a couple of questions.

Are you trying to recreate the existing app, using a more modern database as the backend and VB as the front end? Or, just copying the data out to Access for analysis by a user or two? (Access would be fine in that role)

If the former, how many users would be accessing the back end simultanously? And, approximately how much data are you talking about? If you're going to go to the trouble of moving the data out of Btrieve and writing a new front end, why not place it in a more robust data store than Access? MSDE or SQL Server express come to mind - they're both free, and both are much more stable than Access.
    Last edited by loquin; 03-08-07 at 14:36.
    Lou
    使大吃一惊
    "Lisa, in this house, we obey the laws of thermodynamics!" - Homer Simpson
    "I have my standards. They may be low, but I have them!" - Bette Middler
    "It's a book about a Spanish guy named Manual. You should read it." - Dilbert

Provided Answers: 10
    As louin brushed over - are you sure Access is the right platform for this system.