Page 1 of 12 12311 ... LastLast

Design questions

Hi, I am new to this board and this is my first post. I'm also new to database design. I have a couple of questions that have always nagged me and have gone unanswered I was hoping someone here could clarify for me.

I have made a couple of small (4-5 table) databases and have them in at least BCNF. In adopting this method, while entering data, I am plagued with having to carry over to the next table, the primary key from the last table. It gets confusing at times because different tables have different primary key values. Is there a better way of designing this or going about this?

Ex:

personal_data_ID (PK)
    first_name
    etc

address_ID (PK)
    personal_data_ID (FK)
    address

city_ID (PK)
    address_ID (FK)

personal data_ID, address_ID and city_ID PK's all are different and can become unwieldly to keep track of.

Thanks, Frank
    Last edited by Frunkie; 03-10-07 at 21:59.

Well, you could use natural keys rather than surrogate keys. There is no law saying you have to use a surrogate key. But frankly if you find yourself having to "keep track" of a surrogate key then you don't fully understand what a surrogate key is.
    If it's not practically useful, then it's practically useless.

blindman
    www.chess.com: "sqlblindman"
    www.LobsterShot.blogspot.com

Quote Originally Posted by blindman
    Well, you could use natural keys rather than surrogate keys. There is no law saying you have to use a surrogate key. But frankly if you find yourself having to "keep track" of a surrogate key then you don't fully understand what a surrogate key is.
    Thanks for the reply. You are right, I didn't know what a surrogate key was until now. Well, at least I think I do. Please correct me if I am wrong but I now understand a surrogate key to be a "temporary" key. Or a key to use until a better key can be found. Yes?