Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    11

    Unanswered: How can I get the total/used database disk size?

    I've tried CALL GET_DBSIZE_INFO(?, ?, ?, -1) without success.

    Any tips?

    Best regards.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,737
    You need to be at the proper fixpack level. You may need 8.1 FP9 or higher is needed (but not sure). It definitely works on 8.1 FP10. Make sure you connect to a database before issuing the call.
    M. A. Feldman
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for z/OS and OS/390

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    1,605
    Hi,

    I have executed command on test computer on db2 v8 fp9 and I got bellow result:

    Code:
     Value of output parameters
     --------------------------
     Parameter Name  : SNAPSHOTTIMESTAMP
     Parameter Value : 2007-03-16-07.12.30.446061
    
     Parameter Name  : DATABASESIZE
     Parameter Value : 1769635840
    
     Parameter Name  : DATABASECAPACITY
     Parameter Value : 6297561600
    
     Return Status = 0
    What is the difference between DATABASESIZE and DATABASECAPACITY?

    Thanks,
    Grofaty

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    1,605
    Hi,
    I have found info about GET_DBSIZE_INFO.

    DATABASESIZE = current database size
    DATABASECAPACITY = maximum possible size ob database (dependent to disk space).

    This is useful command. I needed this info multiple times and alway it was debate how to calculate database size. Now I have benchmark value.

    Thanks,
    Grofaty

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Pune , India
    Posts
    433
    8.2.7 on windows

    U can see it in Control Center
    Just connect to a DB and in the object details pane U can see the size and capacity of DB.
    check if ur version supports that
    Rahul Singh
    Certified DB2 9 DBA / Application Developer

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    11

    Unhappy There's a problem...

    Mv DB2 version is 7.2.8.
    How can I get the information?
    I don't have the SYSTOOLS.STMG_DBSIZE_INFO table.
    By the way, there's no any table for the SYSTOOLS schema...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    1,427
    Provided Answers: 4
    Does this also include BLOB's ?
    With kind regards . . . . . SQL Server 2000/2005/2012
    Wim

    Grabel's Law: 2 is not equal to 3 -- not even for very large values of 2.
    Pat Phelan's Law: 2 very definitely CAN equal 3 -- in at least two programming languages

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Jena, Germany
    Posts
    2,721
    Version 7 is out of service for more than a year already. You may want to move to V8 or better yet V9.

    What are you referring to with the "SYSTOOLS" schema?
    Knut Stolze
    IBM DB2 Analytics Accelerator
    IBM Germany Research & Development

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    1,605
    Quote Originally Posted by Shyckymn
    Mv DB2 version is 7.2.8.
    How can I get the information?
    Hi,
    I don't see any option beside calculating in by yourself. If you follow my link few posts above, you can do manually what store procedure GET_DBSIZE_INFO does.

    Hope this helps,
    Grofaty

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •