Unanswered: Access and images

Hi,

I am a total noob to access and i was wondering if anyone has any links or can explain to me how access handles images?

I was also thinking of maybe adding some video to the access database that i want to create as well. Is this just as easy to do as pictures?

I have had a search on the internet but can't really find a guide of how access handles images and videos.

Thanks

Kurose

Quote Originally Posted by kurose
    Hi,

I am a total noob to access and i was wondering if anyone has any links or can explain to me how access handles images?
    I can explain in one word: "poorly."

If you invest in 3rd party software, it's not bad, though. I haven't used it myself, but I've seen good press around DBPix.

I was also thinking of maybe adding some video to the access database that i want to create as well. Is this just as easy to do as pictures?
    Not unless you can find some third party software to work with it. It *might* work, but the weakness of OLE Object fields is that they are dependant on the configuration of the user's machine.

That means that you can uninstall or upgrade some software and find that your video is inaccessible. You won't even be able to save it to a file.

OLE Objects are a great idea, but it's way too easy to lose your data or make the database balloon in size.

Provided Answers: 59
    a far smarter approach is to launch an appropriate media player using a URL stored in the DB

grnted you may need to do some local config at each worktstation (eg this terminal uses REALm, this terminal use QuickTime or whatever.

the reason
    1) your db isnt bloating because of stroing redundant data that Access/Jet cannot use or process, so your db backkups become smaller. your clients may be able to cache files,
    you are not limited to showing content form one physical location.. theoretically they can be shown content from anywhere.