Unanswered: Connecting an Access database to SQL Server

Hi there,

Not sure where this post is best placed, to be honest... Here or the SQL Server forums?

Anyway... The problem I'm having is this:
    I'm working with a piece of software that uses an Access 97 database to store test information. I've got a customer that wants to be able to connect this database to his existing SQL Server database, in order to access some of his test results.

What I need, is a method that every time the user presses "test" in the application, and generates a new record in the Access database, that a corresponding record will appear in the SQL Server database. Ideally, this wouldn't require me to make any changes to the application, just the database(s).

I'm pretty new to working with databases in this style... Anyone able to offer any help? Even a starting point would be great!

Thanks very much,
    Neil

Provided Answers: 59
    several posisble options

one to do it as a batch process.. if you had a flag in the Jet database that could be set once the record has been posted into the SQL Server then do say a nightly/hourly or whatever update setting the flag on completion. this could be done say as a batch file, culling all the records from access and then inserting into the server using either DTS or another access process. if you have a date as part of the test record then you could save a time stamp of when the last update was done and then use that in place of a flag.

alternatively you could write the record at the same time the 'test' button duplicate that process using a pass through query to the server.
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton