Unanswered: Trigger on Pervasive SQL 8

So I've been doing T-SQL for about 4 years now and consider myself an average scripter. I got asked to do a "simple" trigger on Pervasive SQL and got told it's "similar" to T-SQL. What a load of hogwash. Something that could've taken me an hour to do and test in T-SQL has now taken me 2 days of hair-pulling and tantrum throwing.

This is my "simplified" task in pseudocode:

CREATE TRIGGER on Table
    AFTER UPDATE
    IF UPDATED (Updated.Field1) --I'm not sure how to do this in pervasive yet
    SET Field2 = Updated.Field1, Field3 = Updated.Field1, Field4 = Updated.Field1, Field5 = Updated.Field1
    WHERE Field1 = Updated.Field1

I eventually got it right to run the trigger without any errors so wanted to test to see if it actually works (which I know I'm probably going to need help with too). I wrote a "simple" update script:

UPDATE Table
    SET Field1 = variable1 WHERE Field98 = variable2 and Field99 = variable 3

I got the following error: "ODBC Error: SQLSATE = S1000, Native error code = 10000"

No matter what I did I kept getting the error. I started googling thinking my syntax was wrong and looking at various forums (dbforums often being one of the sites I look at) but no luck. I crytically came across what seems to be a fix list for Service Pack 3 which says "Update SQL statement returns "Native Error Code 10000" when simple update trigger is on table" on the pervasive site.

I'm on version 8.60.192.030. How do I know what service pack that is (I'm really clueless when it comes to Pervasive SQL)? Also, if I put the service pack on (if that is the problem) will the application that uses it still run?

Any insights would be most helpful. It would be nice to be able to do work on the ACTUAL trigger. *Frustrated*

Provided Answers: 4
    First, 8.60 is PSQL V8 SP2. PSQL V8.7 is SP3.