Which database to use?

I am trying to figure what the best path is for my business. I would say that I am an intermediate Filemaker programmer. I dont really have too much experience in anything else. I have an office that uses access and my store I programmed a filemaker point of sale system for.

I want to have the store and office synced together. right now they both have different databases with the same info. If i want to update a product it has to be done in both databases. I would like to get some input on a solution.

maybe i could have the store query the office for all info and the store just displays the info, any new records or modifications are stored at the office.... I dont know. Any ideas?

Also, can you make forms with SQL? I was thinking, since the office uses access, I could make forms that grab their info via, sql commands, from the office.

OR, maybe the store has its own database and both the office and store update their info with the others info every half hour or something....

There are a practical infinity of ways to deal with this kind of problem. You need to pick one that looks good and run with it because you could spend eternity trying to find the "perfect" answer, and about an hour after you make a choice a better solution will be introduced!

The obvious solution to me would be to set up one database server and have both Filemaker and MS-Access manipulate the data from that server. That way everyone is working with the same data, with minimal overall effort.

I'd suggest that you avoid replicated solutions (where every x minutes you copy data from place to place) for this kind of problem. First of all, you end up with serious business problems when you aren't sure if the data is consistent. You also run into ugly technical issues resolving problems when there are conflicts such as when a customer buys something, trundles over to the office to "pay up in full" and gets there before the data on their purchase does!