Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    9

    Unanswered: How can a user access a database in Oracle 9i?

    Dear All,
    i am ashek. i have installed oracle 9i Enterprise Edition in one pc(192.168.0.4) and created a database. but i can't access the database from another machine (192.168.0.1). Both of these machines are part of a LAN. What should i do to access the database (i.e. manipulation on the database) from the other machine.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    When all else fails read the fine Net Services Administration Manual
    http://download-west.oracle.com/docs...b14212/toc.htm
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    37
    well, it seems you will have to modify your tnsnames.ora file.
    you can find the file at your oracle home directory then network/admin

    before modifying this, please keep the original version of the tnsnames.ora file.

    try by modifying as follows in you client machine.

    <service name> =
    (DESCRIPTION =
    (ADDRESS_LIST =
    (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(HOST = <server hostname>)(PORT = 1521))
    )
    (CONNECT_DATA =
    (SERVICE_NAME = <db SID>)
    )
    )
    <service name> is your client machine's service name (you can find it if you are you using Win XP from control panel->administrative tools->services
    <server hostname> is your server's host name (or you may use 192.168.0.4)
    <db SID> is the SID of your database on your server.

    then try to connect to the machine where the database resides.
    you may try
    C:\> sqlplus username/password@192.168.0.4/servicename
    please check if it works.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    rushdishams,
    It appears you are assuming the Oracle listener has been properly configured & is running; neither of which is supported by the OP's post.
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    37
    Affirmative! Ashek, you might need to modify your listener.ora file as well which resides in the same folder path. it would be better if you see the listener running appropriately or not by typing in start->run->cmd the followings:

    lsnrctl stop
    lsnrctl start
    lsnrctl reload

    the modification i am suggesting is as follows.
    <service name> =
    (DESCRIPTION =
    (ADDRESS_LIST =
    (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(HOST = <server hostname>)(PORT = 1521))
    )
    SID_LIST_<server hostname> =
    (SID_LIST =
    (SID_DESC =
    (GLOBAL_DBNAME = <global database name>)
    (SID_NAME = <SID of server>)
    )
    )

    after modification it is required to run the 3 commands above. hope this helps you. if it does not, you just need to play with the 2 files. modify them accordingly. i faced the same problem and solved it.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    9

    Thanx

    Thanx guys. the problem has been solved. i just copy the the isqlplus.conf file into the Httpdocs folder of Apache in the server machine.
    Now i am able to access the database from the client machine.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •