Unanswered: DML effects on redo log buffer, undo segment, db buffer cache, db writer, log writer

Hi All,

When I'm studying the OCA, I'm still confused with the concept of the redo log buffer, undo segment, database buffer cache, database writer and log writer. As I know,
    i) undo data is for other users to read my updated but not yet committed data
    ii) redo log contains all transactions including undo data (recovery will apply redo and then undo)
    iii) selected data is on database buffer cache and if the data is updated, it will be sent back to the datafile by db wirter

The questions are:
    1. Do the database buffer cache and undo segment contain the same uncommitted data?
    2. Are the database writer and log writer doing their duties at the same time? If so, recovery from redo log is not needed!?
    3. Are the Insert/Update/Delete statements not related to the database buffer cache, but they can directly write to the datafile?

Thanks in advance!
    LinuxUser

Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Provided Answers: 1
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

anacedent and gurus: pls excuse me on this, I want to try if I got it right. If you feel anything wrong, please feel free to correct them.

linuxisgood: hi there, i'll try my best to answer them