Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Data Acchiving

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    30

    Unanswered: Data Acchiving

    Hi,

    How to Archive Data using Informix? Please provide help.

    Regards

    Saikat Ghosh

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Osnabrueck Germany
    Posts
    59
    Hi,
    try ontape -s -L 0

    ontape
    usage:
    { -a |
    -c |
    -l |
    -p |
    -r [-D DBspace_list] |
    -s [-L archive_level] [-A database_list] [-B database_list]
    [-N database_list] [-U database_list] }

    -a Automatic backup of logical logs
    -c Continuous backup of logical logs
    -l Logical restore
    -p Physical restore for HDR
    -r Full restore DBspaces/BLOBspaces as listed
    -s Archive full system
    -A set the following database(s) to ansi logging
    -B set the following database(s) to buffered logging
    -N set the following database(s) to no logging
    -U set the following database(s) to unbuffered logging
    Juergen Ladwig

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    30

    Difference between onbar/ontape/dbexport

    Hi,

    Thanks for your reply. Can you please tell me the difference & usage of onbar/ontape/dbexport

    Regards

    Saikat Ghosh

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Osnabrueck Germany
    Posts
    59
    Hi,
    just a simple short answer. Ontape and Onbar backup Databases. You are able to do incremental backups. Ontape is very easy to handle. Onbar is the more powerfull backup. I'm not shure if Ontape still works with engine Version >9.xx.
    Dbexport writes Data within Datafiles. You can edit these File after export. You can Dbimport any Dbexport File on different engines. To backup Databases you should use Ontape/Onbar.

    Check out IBM/informix:
    http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infoce....doc/gsg85.htm
    Juergen Ladwig

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    30
    Thanks a Lot.

    Using ontape can we take backup in local harddisk in Win'2K Server?

    Or should we use onbar for that?

    Regards

    Saikat Ghosh

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Osnabrueck Germany
    Posts
    59
    Hi,
    with ontape you can backup Informix databases+Chunks, no matter what System(win or unix). Ontape/Onbar backup only Databases/Chunks which are defined within the Informix setup. If ontape works do it, and try to restore the databases.
    Juergen Ladwig

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    30
    Thanks a lot

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •