Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    31

    Unanswered: DB2 Dialog is Growing

    Hi,
    DB2 dialog is growing frequently."DBHEAP out of memory, try UTILHEAP" message keeps appending on. IS there any solution to stop this erro message
    Version v.8.1.080
    Fix Pack :8
    Regards
    Mohan

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    31
    This is the error message found in db2dialog

    2007-04-02-15.21.26.007355+000 I511003195C299 LEVEL: Error
    PID : 5783788 TID : 1 PROC : db2loggw (WPSDB) 0
    INSTANCE: ucv22q NODE : 000
    FUNCTION: DB2 UDB, data protection, sqlpgole, probe:350
    MESSAGE : Error -1961951227 opening database log extent 752:

    2007-04-02-15.21.26.020451+000 I511003495C284 LEVEL: Warning
    PID : 5783788 TID : 1 PROC : db2loggw (WPSDB) 0
    INSTANCE: ucv22q NODE : 000
    FUNCTION: DB2 UDB, data protection, sqlpgile, probe:330
    MESSAGE : DBHEAP out of memory, try UTILHEAP

    2007-04-02-15.21.26.032637+000 I511003780C299 LEVEL: Error
    PID : 5783788 TID : 1 PROC : db2loggw (WPSDB) 0
    INSTANCE: ucv22q NODE : 000
    FUNCTION: DB2 UDB, data protection, sqlpgole, probe:350
    MESSAGE : Error -1961951227 opening database log extent 752:
    Regards
    Mohan

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    First, what OS are you running on? What is your config parameter for UTILHEAP?

    Andy

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    31
    OS : IBM AIX
    Utilities heap size (4KB) (UTIL_HEAP_SZ) = 5000
    Regards
    Mohan

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    What is the value of DBHEAP?

    Andy

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    31
    DBHEAP size value,

    Database heap (4KB) (DBHEAP) = 120
    Regards
    Mohan

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    There is your problem, DBHEAP is too small. The default is 1200. You should increase it to at least 1200. And then if you continue to get the error, increase it slowly until the error goes away.

    Andy

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Jena, Germany
    Posts
    2,721
    Run the DB2 Configuration Advisor and have a look at the suggestion it gives for your memory/heap configurations.
    Knut Stolze
    IBM DB2 Analytics Accelerator
    IBM Germany Research & Development

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    31
    For modifying this DBHEAP we have to restart the database..?
    Regards
    Mohan

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    Yes, you will need to restart the DB. But you do not need to restart the DBM. If you issued ACTIVATE DB, then you will have to have all connections disconnect (or use FORCE APPLICATIONS), then DEACTIVATE the db. Otherwise just have all the connections disconnect.

    Andy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •