Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    545
    Provided Answers: 4

    Question Unanswered: ASE unattended install: no serialnumber?

    When I finally got the unattended installation of ASE 12.5 to work properly, I noticed that the serial-number is never asked for.
    The installation seems to work properly though.

    If an installation can work properly without a serialnumber, then why is it asked for in the GUI-install?
    I'm not crazy, I'm an aeroplane!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Willy is on vacation
    Posts
    1,208
    you need it to enable the add-on options. You also need it to keep away the compliance audits from Sybase sales.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    545
    Provided Answers: 4
    I would be happy to use my faithfully purchased serial in an unattended install if it is possible. My company does not use any add-on options, so if I have a serial, but I have not used it in the installation, does that still count as legitimate?
    I'm not crazy, I'm an aeroplane!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Willy is on vacation
    Posts
    1,208
    which is something I have done in the past as well. Do unattended installs and then push the license.dat file separately to the target $SYBASE/$SYBASE_SYSAM.

    have the lmgrd daemon startup in your cron and this should pick up the license next time you restart ASE.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    545
    Provided Answers: 4
    You kind of lost me there. I forgot to mention that I use Windows-boxes, not Unix. Is there any documentation on this topic? It'll take some time for you to explain thing I'm afraid, no doubt you can spend that time in a better way.
    I'm not crazy, I'm an aeroplane!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Willy is on vacation
    Posts
    1,208
    I believe on windows SYSAM gets registered as a service when you install Sybase.

    Once the unattaneded install is complete, I assume that you are doing this for many machines. Just write a script to puch the license.txt file to the %SYBASE%\%SYBASE_SYSAM%\licenses folder.

    If this is just a single machine install, run the %SYBASE%\%SYBASE_SYSAM%\bin\lmgr.bat and enter your registration details.

    This should do it.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    545
    Provided Answers: 4
    I think I'll make that work. Thanks for the advice!
    I'm not crazy, I'm an aeroplane!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •