Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20

Thread: Sybase Central

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    167

    Unanswered: Sybase Central

    I'm currently working in an environment that has UNIX/SOLARIS/Sybase on the server and MACs as clients.

    The only admin tools we have are isql and a home-grown GUI admin tool (which totally blows tuna fish).

    I'm trying to implement SQSH, DBArtisan and Sybase Central (w/ ASE Plug-Ins). My first venture is implementing Sybase Central. Since we are using MACs as clients and the servers are UNIX, what is the best way to use the GUI of Sybase Central? Can I run it from the UNIX box? Will it run as a client on the MAC client? What is the best way to get Sybase Central working in a MAC/Solaris world?

    Thank you,

    Mark

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    167

    Sybase Central can only be used on a windows client...

    From my research, the only whay I can use Sybase Central is if it is used on a Windows client, or if the Sybase is installed on a Windows Server. Is this correct? What is your expeirence? Are there any work arounds?

    Thank you,

    Frank

    P.S. Seems that I'm running into the same problem with DBArtisan as well.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    167

    Starting Sybase Central?

    I'm following the following instructions, but getting a java error...

    -------------------------------------------------------------------

    Connecting to Adaptive Server via Sybase Central

    Sybase Central provides a graphical user interface where you can perform Adaptive Server administrative tasks. The Sybase Central interface provides a hierarchical list of servers in the left pane and a details list of the selected server in the right pane. To select a server, click on it in the left pane.

    From a UNIX command line, enter:

    source $SYBASE/SYBASE.csh

    - or -

    . ./SYBASE.sh

    Then enter:

    $SYBASE/ASEP/bin/aseplugin
    Select Tools | Connect, then select the server to which you want to connect from the drop-down list.

    In the Login window, enter, the System Administrator’s user name and password.

    You must log in as the System Administrator to perform administrative tasks.

    Click OK.

    WARNING! The first time you log in to Adaptive Server, use the default “sa” user name and leave the password blank. After you log in for the first time, change the System Administrator’s password. See “Setting the System Administrator password”.

    The Adaptive Server plug-in to Sybase Central does not display all servers listed in the interfaces file. Instead, Sybase Central lists only those servers that you connected to earlier, or those servers that are started as Windows services.

    To access a new server for the first time, select Tools | Connect to select a server listed in the interfaces file.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    167

    This is the error I'm receiving...

    -bash-3.00$ $SYBASE/ASEP/bin/aseplugin
    Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError
    at java.lang.Class.forName0(Native Method)
    at java.lang.Class.forName(Unknown Source)
    at java.awt.GraphicsEnvironment.getLocalGraphicsEnvir onment(Unknown Source)
    at sun.awt.motif.MToolkit.<clinit>(Unknown Source)
    at java.lang.Class.forName0(Native Method)
    at java.lang.Class.forName(Unknown Source)
    at java.awt.Toolkit$2.run(Unknown Source)
    at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
    at java.awt.Toolkit.getDefaultToolkit(Unknown Source)
    at com.sybase.util.ExceptionHandler.getLAFInfo(Except ionHandler.java)
    at com.sybase.util.ExceptionHandler.gatherInformation (ExceptionHandler.java)
    at com.sybase.util.ExceptionHandler.showException(Exc eptionHandler.java)
    at com.sybase.util.ExceptionHandler.handleException(E xceptionHandler.java)
    at com.sybase.central.viewer.SybaseCentral.main(Sybas eCentral.java:397)

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    What do you think the cause is? Should I add the ASEP/bin directory to my PATH?

    When I begin my Terminal session, I'm using ssh to connect to the server and using the -Y option.

    "ssh -Y servername"

    What are your thoughts?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    1,365
    Provided Answers: 1

    Sybase Central on Solaris

    Works for me on ASE 12.5.3
    Add this to your .profile (assuming ksh)
    Code:
    . ~/SYBASE.sh # Note space between . and ~
    PATH=$PATH:$SYBASE/sybcent41/bin:$SYBASE/jutils-2_0/jisql
    export JAVA_HOME=$SYBASE/shared-1_0/JRE-1_3
    export PATH=$JAVA_HOME/bin:$PATH
    export JDBC_HOME=$SYBASE/jConnect-5_5
    export CLASSPATH=$SYBASE/jConnect-5_5/classes/jconn2.jar:$SYBASE/jConnect-5_5/classes:$SYBASE/jutils-2_0/jisql/jisql
    .jar
    export RIBO_HOME=/apps/syb125/jutils-2_0/ribo
    Then to run Sybase central just execute
    scjview &

    or to run jisql (however I prefer the windows SQL Advantage)
    jisql &

    Note: You might have to set e.g DISPLAY=<your_ip>:0.0
    Note2: jisql doesn't accept host name, specify IP address

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    167

    Current Environmnt Variables...

    ...........................
    Last edited by ftmjr; 04-06-07 at 04:13.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    167

    Starting Sybase Central?

    Boy... I'm sure racking my head agains the wall on this one. I'm trying to get Sybase Central started, but have no idea all the steps I need to take. I've searched for documentation everywhere, buy no luck.

    What are the minimal steps that I need to take to get it running on a 12.5.4 install (set Environment Variables, etc.)?

    Thank you,

    Mark

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    167

    Still not working... :(

    .................
    Last edited by ftmjr; 04-06-07 at 04:13.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    167

    Cleaned up Environment Variables... still not working. :(

    ................................
    Last edited by ftmjr; 04-06-07 at 04:14.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    167

    tried to run jisql, but failed (below is error msg)

    -bash-3.00$ . ./jisql
    Exception in thread "main" java.lang.InternalError: Can't connect to X11 window server using 'xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:0.0' as the value of the DISPLAY variable.
    at sun.awt.X11GraphicsEnvironment.initDisplay(Native Method)
    at sun.awt.X11GraphicsEnvironment.<clinit>(Unknown Source)
    at java.lang.Class.forName0(Native Method)
    at java.lang.Class.forName(Unknown Source)
    at java.awt.GraphicsEnvironment.getLocalGraphicsEnvir onment(Unknown Source)
    at java.awt.Font.initializeFont(Unknown Source)
    at java.awt.Font.<init>(Unknown Source)
    at com.sybase.jisql.Const.<clinit>(Const.java:57)
    at com.sybase.jisql.HandleMessages.getBundle(HandleMe ssages.java:303)
    at com.sybase.jisql.HandleMessages.<init>(HandleMessa ges.java:287)
    at com.sybase.jisql.Jisql.main(Jisql.java:961)
    -bash-3.00$

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    167

    tried to start jisql, but failed (error msg below)

    -bash-3.00$ . ./jisql
    Exception in thread "main" java.lang.InternalError: Can't connect to X11 window server using 'xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:0.0' as the value of the DISPLAY variable.
    at sun.awt.X11GraphicsEnvironment.initDisplay(Native Method)
    at sun.awt.X11GraphicsEnvironment.<clinit>(Unknown Source)
    at java.lang.Class.forName0(Native Method)
    at java.lang.Class.forName(Unknown Source)
    at java.awt.GraphicsEnvironment.getLocalGraphicsEnvir onment(Unknown Source)
    at java.awt.Font.initializeFont(Unknown Source)
    at java.awt.Font.<init>(Unknown Source)
    at com.sybase.jisql.Const.<clinit>(Const.java:57)
    at com.sybase.jisql.HandleMessages.getBundle(HandleMe ssages.java:303)
    at com.sybase.jisql.HandleMessages.<init>(HandleMessa ges.java:287)
    at com.sybase.jisql.Jisql.main(Jisql.java:961)
    -bash-3.00$

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    167

    Server or client profile?

    Should this be added to my local computer profile or Sybase server account profile (sybase profile or my home directory profile)?

    ON a side note... I'm loging on to the server with my personal user id, then performing a sudo to the sybase id/account ("sudo su - sybase"). So which profile should I add the below information to?


    Quote Originally Posted by pdreyer
    Works for me on ASE 12.5.3
    Add this to your .profile (assuming ksh)
    Code:
    . ~/SYBASE.sh # Note space between . and ~
    PATH=$PATH:$SYBASE/sybcent41/bin:$SYBASE/jutils-2_0/jisql
    export JAVA_HOME=$SYBASE/shared-1_0/JRE-1_3
    export PATH=$JAVA_HOME/bin:$PATH
    export JDBC_HOME=$SYBASE/jConnect-5_5
    export CLASSPATH=$SYBASE/jConnect-5_5/classes/jconn2.jar:$SYBASE/jConnect-5_5/classes:$SYBASE/jutils-2_0/jisql/jisql
    .jar
    export RIBO_HOME=/apps/syb125/jutils-2_0/ribo
    Then to run Sybase central just execute
    scjview &

    or to run jisql (however I prefer the windows SQL Advantage)
    jisql &

    Note: You might have to set e.g DISPLAY=<your_ip>:0.0
    Note2: jisql doesn't accept host name, specify IP address
    Last edited by ftmjr; 04-06-07 at 00:37.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    167

    running command "bash-2.03$. ./scjview", but still not working.

    running command "bash-2.03$. ./scjview", but still not working.

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    drwxr-xr-x 4 sybase sybase 512 Mar 29 2006 sybcent32
    -rw-r----- 1 sybase sybase 313 Jun 9 2006 __
    bash-2.03$ cd sybcent32
    bash-2.03$ ls -al
    total 34
    drwxr-xr-x 4 sybase sybase 512 Mar 29 2006 .
    drwxr-xr-x 27 sybase sybase 1024 Apr 6 09:53 ..
    drwxr-xr-x 2 sybase sybase 512 Mar 29 2006 META-INF
    -rwxr-xr-x 1 sybase sybase 4335 Mar 29 2006 ddlgen
    -rwxr-xr-x 1 sybase sybase 608 Mar 29 2006 deploytool.sh
    -rwxr-xr-x 1 sybase sybase 608 Mar 29 2006 exporttool.sh
    drwxr-xr-x 3 sybase sybase 512 Mar 29 2006 java
    -rwxr-xr-x 1 sybase sybase 443 Mar 29 2006 readme.txt
    -rwxr-xr-x 1 sybase sybase 4595 Mar 29 2006 scjview
    bash-2.03$ export DISPLAY=15.123.14.12:0.0
    bash-2.03$ . ./scjview
    \nStarting Sybase Central Java Edition (displaying to 15.123.14.12) ...\n
    Exception in thread "main" java.lang.InternalError: Can't connect to X11 window server using '15.123.14.12:0.0' as th
    e value of the DISPLAY variable.
    at sun.awt.X11GraphicsEnvironment.initDisplay(Native Method)
    at sun.awt.X11GraphicsEnvironment.<clinit>(X11Graphic sEnvironment.java:61)
    at java.lang.Class.forName0(Native Method)
    at java.lang.Class.forName(Class.java, Compiled Code)
    at java.awt.GraphicsEnvironment.getLocalGraphicsEnvir onment(GraphicsEnvironment.java, Compiled Code)
    at sun.awt.motif.MToolkit.<clinit>(MToolkit.java:60)
    at java.lang.Class.forName0(Native Method)
    at java.lang.Class.forName(Class.java, Compiled Code)
    at java.awt.Toolkit$2.run(Toolkit.java, Compiled Code)
    at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
    at java.awt.Toolkit.getDefaultToolkit(Toolkit.java, Compiled Code)
    at sybase.scf.controller.MainController.run(MainContr oller.java, Compiled Code)
    at sybase.scf.controller.MainController.main(MainCont roller.java, Compiled Code)
    \n
    The following error(s) occured while running Sybase Central
    -----------------------------------------------------------
    \nError(s) have been written to the file: /tmp/scj_error.log\n
    bash-2.03$

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    167

    sudo su - sybase ..... may be the culprit

    I've been working with our UNIX team and they think that the problems that I'm running into may be related to using sudo. Since I'm not logging on directly as the Sybase user (using sudo instead), we are running into problems. Or so they say...

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    167

    do I need to use the sybase account instead of sudo?

    When using Sybase Central, do I need to use the sybase account instead of using the sudo command?

    If I use the sudo command, will it prevent Sybase Central from working?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •