Excel or Access - which is recommended?

Hello All,

I'm a complete and utter newbie when it comes to databases and what is involved in creating them, hence I'm hoping to benefit all ya'lls advice

I'm working as IT support at a company with approximately 80 users, and we're planning to roll out Windows XP (still on W2K!) in the next month or so and I would like to create a database of our users that contains information such as: Name, Desk Number, OS, Machine Spec, Special software, phone number, etc, etc.

Now, I know that I could just manually enter all this info into, say, an Excel spreadsheet. However, this just seems very inefficient given that the information will have to be constantly updated (people leaving, hardware upgraded, new software installed, etc).

What do you recommend I use to try to create a database (so that I can also know which section of the dbforums I can start posting to )? I don't know very much about either Excel or Access, but those are the 2 programs readily accessible to me (and others who may want to view information contained within this database). I was leaning towards Access after playing around with it since it looks like it can generate nice reports, but I'm not sure what learning curve is involved. Excel on the other hand seems easier.. I think. But in terms of efficiency given what I need to use it for, which do you recommend?

Any suggestions appreciated!

Thanks

if you are 1 month from rollout, and you are familiar with Excel Id stick with Excel.
    Reason: time constraints, to get a fully fucntional application in Access may easily take several weeks /months of full time development if youa re startign from scratch, hwoeverin my view the Access route would be preferable as it gives flexibility and cleaner access to your data for reporting, sumamrising or managing. But then I spend way to much time using Access, and nowhere near enough using other tools, so im very familiar with Access