Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Perspective on RI and other DB constraints

Dear fellow Database Developers,

I need your perspective as database developers on the topic of referential integrity and other database integrity constraints through a short survey (5-8 minutes).

I am a practicing Database Administrator/Database Developer with over 18 years of related experience. I also double up as a graduate student in the newly developing science of “Information Quality”. (The world’s first graduate program in the field was implemented Fall 2006 (September 2006) by the University of Arkansas at Little Rock in collaboration with the Massachusetts Institute of Technology).

I have taken the opportunity of my situation to connect studies in the Information/Data Quality field with my experience as a database developer to research on some questions that have intrigued me in the past. In my working experience, I have come across quite a number of relational databases deficient in database integrity constraint implementation such as referential integrity (RI). The questions that came to me were; what are the major reasons behind this lack of constraints? Database integrity constraints have prompted tremendous research and development in vendor laboratories and in academia. However, industry may have exhibited some reluctance and I am on the quest for the actual reasons from the field. The results of this survey should be of interest to practitioners and theorists in the areas of relational database development as well Information/Data quality.

The database constraints being referred to include referential integrity constraints, check constraints (Rules in the case of SQLServer/Sybase/Oracle) and triggers. (To some, triggers may seem odd choice for business rules enforcement. However they offer a rich capability of rule enforcement besides it was also the only choice in certain RDBMs at one time).