Unanswered: Career in Oracle Database Administration

Guys,

As Oracle database administrators and as fellow IT comrades, can you give me an idea of what skill/s should I need to be marketable? I plan to be an IT manager of some sort in the future. Do you guys think that I should undergo BI first?

Do I need PL/SQL? Is it really a requirement for such an idea?

the reason why am asking is because, here in our country, the database administrator should almost know everything (including oracle forms, scripting etc etc) but the problem is, I don't know where to get resources on those stuffs. Where you faced with certain questions before you became what you are right now?

Honestly, I am a neophyte in DBA field but I am taking OCA for 9i as of the moment. Do you guys think that I can handle 10g even though I only have 9i as part of my basic knowledge?

Sorry for my english but I really appreciate your inputs.
    Thanks

Talking

What country?
    Today every company wants to hire "supermen" that know (or so they say) almost everything.
    Just check out the job requirements on any job site and you will find out the outrageous skills these companies want you to have.

Good luck!

PS: Focus on 10g
    The person who says it can't be done should not interrupt the person doing it. -- Chinese proverb

Quote Originally Posted by LKBrwn_DBA

What country?
    Today every company wants to hire "supermen" that know (or so they say) almost everything.
    Just check out the job requirements on any job site and you will find out the outrageous skills these companies want you to have.

Good luck!

hi LKBrwn_DBA,

What country? Philippines. How about you? where are you based from?
    10g? oh my that means, i have to take an upgrade to 10g am I right?

regards,

arch

You learn 10g. (I is slated for desupport next year anyway)
    Bill
    You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.

Quote Originally Posted by LKBrwn_DBA

What country?