Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question Unanswered: Update Query which ignores null parameters from form?

Hi,

Using MS Access 2000 and apologies, I am pretty new to VBA and Access.

I have a table (tbl_Round_Collection_Database) which I hope to update using an update query based on entries on a form (frm_bulk_update1). This table is linked via a unique number to an address database to enable a user to search by the street name and/or postcode (like a zipcode) to determine which records in the table will be updated.

It works as follows - the user enters the street name and/or the postcode and clicks a button to view all the records which are selected (via a select query). If they are happy that their search only includes those records they wish to alter then they close that query result, enter the relevant data onto the "update to" textboxes/checkboxes on the form and click the update button to run the query (called qry_bulk_update_address) as an update query (so I have 1 select and 1 update query with the same WHERE parameters passed from the form). It can update the fields for a number of records (like an entire street) at once.

Although it works well I have a problem in that if nothing is entered in one of the form's (unbound) fields (eg [Forms]![frm_bulk_update1]![up_refuse_week]), it will update the resulting record ([tbl_Round_Collection_Database.Refuse_Week]) with a null value, deleting existing information.

Is there any way of having an update query which will only update a particular record if something has been entered in the corresponding form text box (ie some sort of conditional check)?

My other thought was to populate the form with the existing data in the first record returned after the initial search has been done. I can add an "existing data" field on the form if required (and populate from the select query), but I do not know how to force the update query to use that "existing data" field if the updating field is empty.