Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Select Queries

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    121

    Question Unanswered: Select Queries

    Gang
    Is there a way to set a select query where a field or certain fields on the query are formatted to lock the information on that field so it cannot be changed, but let other fields be changeable?


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    11,434
    Provided Answers: 10
    Hmm, how are you displaying this query? Subform, etc?
    George
    Home | Blog

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    The Bottom of The Barrel
    Posts
    6,102
    Provided Answers: 1
    What (I believe) Goergev is driving at is you should be presenting this data to your user in a form. Within the form, you have much greater control about what can and cannot be modified by your user. Plus it's just general good practice to never expose raw tables to your end users.
    oh yeah... documentation... I have heard of that.

    *** What Do You Want In The MS Access Forum? ***

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    121
    This is true, I understand not exposing data in the raw format to a user, but unfortunatly that is what I had to do recently to solve a problem.

    So, with all of your great advise, what would be a great way to show several records all at once on a form as you suggest so the user could peer over the data and make necessary changes (in this instance to a shipping schedule) as needed? I have seen forms that appear to be showing a table view in them but don't have any to use as an example for me to build off of. The user of the program doesn't want to have to scroll thru the records one at a time, but to view them in mass.

    (I'm sure there is an easy way to do this, but MS help isn't getting me anywhere)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    11,434
    Provided Answers: 10
    I suggesat you take a peek at using subforms...
    And yes Teddy, that's what I was getting at
    George
    Home | Blog

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    121
    Thanks, I'll try to get some info on using that approach!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    The Bottom of The Barrel
    Posts
    6,102
    Provided Answers: 1
    Otherwise a continuous form will do the trick for you. I believe you can also lock fields when displaying the form in datasheet mode, but I haven't tried that personally.

    I've done the continuous form/subform route with fields packed tightly together so it has that familiar "spreadsheet" feel to it without sacrificing my deathgrip on the UI.
    oh yeah... documentation... I have heard of that.

    *** What Do You Want In The MS Access Forum? ***

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •