Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    The Farm
    Posts
    35

    Unanswered: Accessing System Views via linked servers

    Is there anyway to access system views on/from a linked server?

    I have unsuccessfully tried various permutations of
    Code:
    select *
    from [MDEDATAWTD\ss2005].master.[information_schema.colums]
    Thanks
    Bartron

    Liv'n down on the cube farm. Left, then another left, then right.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    One Flump in One Place
    Posts
    14,912
    You are making the table and column name appear as one object. This works fine for me:

    Code:
     
    SELECT *
    FROM [MyServer].master.information_schema.columns
    2005 also. High priveledge linked account.

    HTH
    Testimonial:
    pootle flump
    ur codings are working excelent.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    One Flump in One Place
    Posts
    14,912
    Quote Originally Posted by pootle flump
    You are making the table and column name appear as one object.
    Not very helpful huh?

    I mean with this:
    Code:
     
    ....[information_schema.colums]
    Testimonial:
    pootle flump
    ur codings are working excelent.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    The Farm
    Posts
    35
    Thanks.

    It is not working for me even though I can access the data bases directly. I am going to try a different tack. This approach is chewing too much time.
    Bartron

    Liv'n down on the cube farm. Left, then another left, then right.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    One Flump in One Place
    Posts
    14,912
    Ok - but if you do decide to stick with it check that your linked server maps to an account with the correct privledges. Remember - your domain account could be locally mapped to a remote SQL account that has insufficient rights.

    I suppose we'd need to know the error too.

    Anyway - just a thought
    Testimonial:
    pootle flump
    ur codings are working excelent.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    The Farm
    Posts
    35
    Thanks for the additional insight.

    I also discovered that I really didn't want the system tables from a "linked server" but the system views from a database on the "linked server". Either way I could not get it to work. As I said the benefit gained by procedurally scripting the change looks to be longer than just manually doing the change.

    FYI: The error was of the "object does not exist" variety.
    Bartron

    Liv'n down on the cube farm. Left, then another left, then right.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Burbank & Santa Cruz de la Sierra
    Posts
    3,716
    Awww, c'mon Bartron...don't give up now! You'll need the linked server experience somewhere down the line!

    It's very common for the "object does not exist" error to be due to permissions issues as previously pointed out.
    aka "Paul"
    Non est ei similis.

    I just read "100 Things To Do Before You Die". I was surprised that "Yell for help!!" wasn't one of them

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •