Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    7

    Question Unanswered: why Transactional Replication option is disable?

    i read about what replication is and what are the types of replication but when i m trying to implement this i am unable to perform one of its type "Transactional Replication" i have no idea why this option is disable,can u plz guide me where i m wrong?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    1,245
    Quote Originally Posted by aamir1
    i read about what replication is and what are the types of replication but when i m trying to implement this i am unable to perform one of its type "Transactional Replication" i have no idea why this option is disable,can u plz guide me where i m wrong?
    What version of SQL Server?

    What OS?

    Have you configured a distributor for the database you want to replicate?

    Note that for transactional merge to work, you must add a timestamp column (not datetime, timestamp) to each table that you wish to replicate.

    Look at SQL BOL.

    Regards,

    hmscott
    Have you hugged your backup today?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    61

    Check your Recovery Mode

    Is the recovery mode for the database you are trying to replicate set to Full? Transactional Replication will not be available if it is not.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    7
    for hmscott

    sql server 2000
    windows Xp

    yes i configured the database which i want to replicate

    "Note that for transactional merge to work, you must add a timestamp column (not datetime, timestamp) to each table that you wish to replicate.
    "
    i dont know how can i this can plz guide me?

    For Lempster

    "Is the recovery mode for the database you are trying to replicate set to Full?"

    no, i unable to check is the recovery mode for the DB wat i m trying to replicate is set to full, how can i do this?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    1,245
    Quote Originally Posted by aamir1
    for hmscott

    i dont know how can i this can plz guide me?
    Code:
    -- create table
    create table foo (bar char(10) not null)
    
    -- add pk
    alter table foo add constraint pk_foo primary key clustered (bar)
    
    -- insert data
    insert foo (bar) values ('1')
    
    -- add timestamp column
    -- ========> this is the code you are looking for
    alter table foo add [timestamp] timestamp
    
    -- check values
    select * from foo
    It's probably NOT a good idea to name the timestamp column "timestamp". But I wasn't feeling particularly imaginative today.

    Regards,

    hmscott
    Have you hugged your backup today?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    7

    Post Thnx hmscott

    Thanx hmscott,it was very helpful for me

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    61
    To find what Recovery mode a database is set to:

    1. Right-click on the database in Enterprise Manager and select 'Properties'.
    2. Click on the 'Options' tab.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •